Industry | Filmmaking

13 Students From US Colleges Win 2013 Student Academy Awards

User Rating:  / 0


Thirteen students from nine U.S. colleges and universities as well as three students from foreign universities have been selected as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Student Academy Awards competition.  This year saw first-time honors go to Elon University, Occidental College and the University of Michigan in the U.S. competition, as well as to Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland, and RITS School of Arts, Belgium, in the foreign competition. The medal placements – gold, silver and bronze – in each of the award categories will be announced at the official aawards ceremony on June 8, 2013.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title):

10 Documentaries Selected for 2013 IFP Independent Filmmaker Labs

User Rating:  / 0

The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) announced today the ten documentaries selected for the 2013 Independent Filmmaker Labs, IFP’s  annual year-long fellowship for first-time feature directors.  The key creative teams of the selected films will participate in three week-long sessions over the course of 2013, with the first – the Time Warner Foundation Documentary Completion Lab – taking place May 13-17 in New York City.

13 Film Projects Selected for Sundance Institute's June Directors and Screenwriters Labs

User Rating:  / 0


13 film projects have been selected for the Sundance Institute's annual June Directors and Screenwriters Labs, taking place at the Sundance Resort in Utah from May 27 through June 27. 

At the Directors Lab, Fellows work with an accomplished group of Creative Advisors, professional actors and production crews to shoot and edit key scenes from their screenplays. Through this intense, hands-on process, the Fellows workshop their scripts, collaborate with actors and find a visual storytelling language for their films. Directors Lab Fellows join five additional projects for the week-long Screenwriters Lab, where they participate in individualized story sessions under the guidance of established screenwriters.

Tribeca Film Institute Announces Winners of 10th Annual Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Awards

User Rating:  / 0

The narrative The Lobbyists and the documentary (T)ERROR  were tonight announced the winners of the Tribeca Film Institute (TFI) 10th Annual Tribeca All Access (TAA) Creative Promise Awards.  Each project received $10,000 to help bring their films to completion.  The Institute also announced this year’s TAA alumni grants and fellowships during the 2013 Tribeca Film Festival. The grants, all presented at tonight’s event, total over $90,000 in funds. 

Newton’s Laws of Emotion Wins first ever Tribeca Film Institute Sloan Filmmaker Prize

User Rating:  / 0

Newton’s Laws of Emotion was just announced as the winner of the first ever Tribeca Film Institute (TFI)Sloan Filmmaker Prize. The project will receive a $10,000 cash prize that will be used to help bring the film closer to completion. 

Tribeca Film Institute Announces 2013 Latin America Media Arts Fund, Heineken Voces And Worldview Grant Winners

User Rating:  / 0

The Tribeca Film Institute (TFI) announced the award winners for the TFI Latin America Media Arts Fund, Heineken VOCES and TFI/WorldView Partnership grants at a celebration for Latin American filmmakers during the Tribeca Film Festival. The funds, totaling $130,000, support innovative Latin American film and video artists to help them explore stories reflecting diverse cultures and gain exposure in the film industry. 

Director Ava DuVernay Wins Tribeca Film Institute First Ever Heineken Affinity Award

User Rating:  / 0

Last night Ava DuVernay was announced the winner of the inaugural Tribeca Film Institute (TFI) inaugural Heineken Affinity Award as the 2013 Tribeca Film Festival continues in downtown Manhattan, New York City. DuVernay was chosen as the winner by public vote on a website dedicated to the Heineken Affinity Award. The award is given to an African-American filmmaker (age 21 and over) to empower and encourage them to continue to craft stories through film.  In addition to a $20,000 cash prize awarded at the event, DuVernay will receive year round support and professional development from TFI for her future projects.

Eight Films Awarded Grants to Help With Production from San Francisco Film Society

User Rating:  / 0

Eight films being produced in the San Francisco Bay Area will receive a total of $340,000 in funding to help with their next stage of production from San Francisco Film Society (SFFS) and the Kenneth Rainin Foundation (KRF).  SFFS / KRF Filmmaking Grants are awarded twice annually to filmmakers for narrative feature films that will have significant economic or professional impact on the Bay Area filmmaking community.

The winners include Jonas Carpignano, writer/director - A Chjana; Grainger David, writer/director - Nocturne; Ian Hendrie and Jyson McLean, co-writers/directors/producers - Mercy Road; Maryam Keshavarz and Paolo Marinou-Blanco, cowriters - The Last Harem; Richard Levien, writer/director and Chad Burris, producer - La Migra; Tommy Oliver, writer/director/producer - 1982; Vendela Vida, cowriter and Eva Weber, cowriter/director - Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name; and Josef Wladyka, cowriter/director - Manos Sucias.

AMPAS Cocktail Party to Inaugurate the Future Home of The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures

User Rating:  / 0

On Thursday, April 11, 2013, the Academy Museum of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences held the inaugural celebration for the future home of The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures at the historic Wilshire May Company Building in Los Angeles. Guest in attendance included Annette Bening (left), Co-Chair of The Academy Museum, Warren Beatty (center) and Academy Governor Jim Gianopulos (all pictured above).

Four Projects that Dramatize Science and Technology Themes in Film Awarded Tribeca Film Institute Grants

User Rating:  / 0

 Tribeca Film Institute

The Tribeca Film Institute (TFI) announced the four projects that will receive financial and creative support from the Tribeca Film Institute (TFI) Sloan Filmmaker Fund.  The projects will be awarded a total of $140,000 and will be recognized at the annual Tribeca Film Festival, taking place April 17-28, 2013.  The winning films are: 2030, Newton’s Laws of Emotion, Oldest Man Alive and The Doctor.

You are here: Home Industry | Filmmaking

About VIMOOZ is the online hub for independent films, documentary film, foreign films and film festivals. We love  championing the 'little' film.

Contact Us

Press releases, screeners, invitations 
editor @ 

General emails
info @