Asian Film Awards 2014

The 8th Asian Film Awards (AFA) was held last month in Macau, and Mr  Wong Kar Wai’s martial arts film, THE GRANDMASTER, which topped the AFA nominees’ list with 11 nominations out of 14 categories, scooped up the awards for Best Film, Best Director, Best Cinematographer, Best Production Designer, Best Composer and Best Costume Designer, while Zhang Zi yi was also crowned the Best Actress for her performance in the movie.

Indian actor Irrfan Khan with THE LUNCHBOX won Best Actor, and the film also claimed the Best Screenwriter. The incredible acting skills of HUANG Bo and YEO Yann Yann earned them Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress awards for their roles in NO MAN’S LAND and ILO ILO, while JIANG Shuying from SO YOUNG won for Best Newcomer. The 8th Asian Film Awards Academy conferred the Life-Time Achievement Award on Taiwanese celebrated director Hou Hsiao-hsien for his contribution to the film industry.

The full list of nominees and winners of 8th Asian Film Awards (AFA):

Read more ...

Cas & DylanCas & Dylan

Jason Priestley’s Cas & Dylan and Woody Allen’s Blue Jasmine are the winners of Toronto International Film Festival's 10th annual Film Circuit People’s Choice Awards. Cas & Dylan was named Best Canadian Film and Blue Jasmine was selected as the Best International Film.

“It is an unbelievable thrill and honour for us to be chosen as Best Canadian Film by the 2013 Film Circuit audiences,” said Priestley. “For our film to receive such accolades is an unexpected pleasure. Thank you.”

Read more ...

efa young audience award nomimations 2014 THE CONTEST, REGRET! and WINDSTORM

Three films, THE CONTEST, directed by Martin Miehe-Renard, REGRET, directed by Dave Schram, and WINDSTORM, directed by Katja von Garnier, have been nominated for the EFA (European Film Academy) Young Audience Award 2014. On Young Audience Film Day on 4 May, the three nominated films will be screened to a audiences of 12 – 14 year-olds in 17 cities across Europe. And it is the young audience that will act as a jury and vote for the winner right after the screenings.

Read more ...

2014 ocar winners 86th Academy Awards , 20 FEET FROM STARDOM, THE GREAT BEAUTY, THE LADY IN NUMBER 6:

At  the 86th Academy Awards held on Sunday night, he best documentary award went to 20 FEET FROM STARDOM, and Italy picked up it's 11th best foreign film Oscar for THE GREAT BEAUTY.  The documentary short Oscar went to THE LADY IN NUMBER 6: MUSIC SAVED MY LIFE, about 110-year-old Holocaust survivor, Alice Herz Sommer, who died just days before the ceremony. 

The complete list of winners of 86th Academy Awards.

Read more ...

 Guillaume Gallienne's ME, MYSELF AND MUM Guillaume Gallienne's ME, MYSELF AND MUM

Guillaume Gallienne's ME, MYSELF AND MUM was the big winner at the 39th César Awards in Paris, taking home five awards, including Best Picture, Best Actor, Best Adaptation, Best First Film and Best Editing. Adapted from his one-man stage show, Guillaume Gallienne shows what it’s like to grow up as a boy when everyone is convinced that you’re really a girl – or should have been. Playing both himself and his frosty grande dame mother, Gallienne traces his life from childhood in an aristocratic family through adventures in Spain, ill-fated stints at boarding school and a hair-raising spa visit to the present, when he comes out as… well, simply as his own uncategorisable self. 

The complete list of winners of the 39th Cesar Awards:

Read more ...

2014 spirit award winners

The 29th Spirit Awards ceremony was held this afternoon in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, with top honors going to 12 YEARS A SLAVE, DALLAS BUYERS CLUB and NEBRASKA. BLUE JASMINE, FRUITVALE STATION, BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR, SHORT TERM 12, THIS IS MARTIN BONNER and 20 FEET FROM STARDOM also received awards at the ceremony.

This year’s major category winners were 12 YEARS A SLAVE, which won Best Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Supporting Female and Best Cinematography and DALLAS BUYERS CLUB, which won Best Supporting Male and Best Male Lead; FRUITVALE STATION which won Best First Feature and NEBRASKA, which won Best First Screenplay; BLUE JASMINE, which won Best Female Lead, SHORT TERM 12 which won Best Editing; THIS IS MARTIN BONNER, which won the John Cassavetes Award; BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR, which won Best International Film and 20 FEET FROM STARDOM which won Best Documentary.

Read more ...


The winners of the 45th NAACP Image Awards were announced this weekend, and “FRUITVALE STATION” won the award for Outstanding Independent Motion Picture, and “WAR WITCH” won  the Outstanding International Motion Picture award.  “FREE ANGELA AND ALL POLITICAL PRISONERS” received the award for Outstanding Documentary - (Theatrical), and RICHARD PRYOR: OMIT THE LOGIC won the award for Outstanding Documentary - (Television).  

Read more ...

Rob Reiner

Director Rob Reiner, will be honored at the Film Society of Lincoln Center's 41st Annual Chaplin Award Gala held at Lincoln Center i New York City on Monday, April 28, 2014.  According to the Film Society of Lincoln Center, 'The event will celebrate the range of Reiner’s work from the pure comedy of This Is Spinal Tap and The Princess Bride to the intense drama of Stand By Me; the romantic comedy of When Harry Met Sally…, as well as his extensive on-screen work highlighted with the role of Michael “Meathead” Stivic in the landmark television series All in the Family.'
Read more ...


The winners of the EE British Academy Film Awards were announced in London on Sunday night, and the GREAT BEAUTY won the award for Film Not in the English Language, the ACT OF KILLING received the Documentary award, and director and writer Kieran Evans received the award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer for his first feature film KELLY + VICTOR.

Read more ...

karen o yeah yeah

Songwriter and lead singer of the band Yeah Yeah ,Yeahs, Karen O will, for the first time, perform the Oscar®-nominated original song “The Moon Song” on the Oscars®, show. The Oscars, hosted by Ellen DeGeneres, will air on Sunday, March 2, live on ABC.

“The Moon Song,” with music by Karen O and lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze, was written for the film “HER,” directed by Jonze. The three other nominated songs are “Happy” from “Despicable Me 2,” “Let It Go” from “Frozen” and “Ordinary Love” from “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom.”

Read more ...