Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

The Scientific and Technical Awards Committee of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that 15 scientific and technical achievements have been selected for further awards consideration.

The list is made public to allow individuals and companies with similar devices or claims of prior art the opportunity to submit their achievements for review. The deadline to submit additional entries is Tuesday, August 31.

The committee has selected the following methods or devices for further consideration:

  • OBQ/DOALL (Industrial Light & Magic)
  • Queue (Rhythm & Hues)
  • Race Render Queue System (Digital Domain)
  • Qube (PipelineFX)
  • Misterd (Pixar Animation Studios)
  • RQS/Depgraph Render Management System (DreamWorks Animation)
  • Cue3 (Sony Pictures Imageworks)
  • Alfred – Job Queuing and Distributing Rendering System (Pixar Animation Studios)
  • XGen – Arbitrary Primitive Generator (Walt Disney Animation Studios)
  • Expression Analysis for Facial Motion Capture (Weta Digital)
  • Efficient Global Illumination System for Computer Graphic Films (PDI/DreamWorks Animation)
  • cineSync (Rising Sun Research Pty. Ltd.)
  • Timecode Slate (Entertainment Technology)
  • NAC Servo Winches (NAC Company)
  • Cannon-Less Turnover System (Performance Picture Vehicles)

After thorough investigations are conducted on each of the entries, the committee will meet in early December to vote on recommendations to the Academy’s Board of Governors, which will make the final awards decisions.

The 2010 Scientific and Technical Awards will be presented at the Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills on Saturday, February 12, 2011.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.