Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

The Cow Who Wanted to Be a Hamburger

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced that 10 animated short films and 10 live action short films will advance in the voting process for the 83rd Academy Awards®. Thirty-three animated short films and seventy-six live action short films had originally qualified in the category.

The 10 animated short films are listed below in alphabetical order by title, with their production company:

“The Cow Who Wanted to Be a Hamburger,” Bill Plympton, director (Bill Plympton Studio)

“Coyote Falls,” Matthew O’Callaghan, director and Sam Register, executive producer (Warner Bros. Animation Inc.)

“Day & Night,” Teddy Newton, director (Pixar Animation Studios)

“The Gruffalo,” Jakob Schuh and Max Lang, directors (Magic Light Pictures)

“Let’s Pollute,” Geefwee Boedoe, story-design-animation (Geefwee Boedoe)

“The Lost Thing,” Shaun Tan and Andrew Ruhemann, directors (Passion Pictures Australia)

“Madagascar, Carnet de Voyage (Madagascar, a Journey Diary),” Bastien Dubois, director (Sacrebleu Productions)

“Sensology,” Michel Gagne, director-producer (GAGNE International LLC)

“The Silence beneath the Bark,” Joanna Lurie, director (Lardux Films)

“Urs,” Moritz Mayerhofer, director (Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg)

The 10 live action short films are listed below in alphabetical order by title, with their production company:

“Ana’s Playground,” Eric D. Howell, director (StoryForge, LLC)

“The Confession,” Tanel Toom, director (National Film and Television School)

“The Crush,” Michael Creagh, director (Purdy Pictures)

“God of Love,” Luke Matheny, director (Luke Matheny)

“Na Wewe,” Ivan Goldschmidt, director-producer (CUT!)

“Seeds of the Fall,” Patrik Eklund, director, and Mathias Fjellstrom, producer (Direktorn & Fabrikorn)

“Shoe,” Nick Kelly, director, and Seamus Byrne, producer (Zanita Films)

“The Six Dollar Fifty Man,” Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland, directors (Sticky Pictures Ltd.)

“Sma Barn, Stora Ord (Little Children, Big Words),” Lisa James Larsson, director and Andreas Emanuelsson, producer (Bob Film Sweden AB)

“Wish 143,” Ian Barnes, director, and Samantha Waite, producer (Swing and Shift Films/Union Pictures)

Short Films and Feature Animation Branch members will now select three to five nominees from among the 10 titles on the shortlist.

The 83rd Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Tuesday, January 25, 2011, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2010 will be presented on Sunday, February 27, 2011, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center®, and televised live by the ABC Television Network.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.