Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

The nominations for the 17th Lumière Awards, aka the French Golden Globes, were announced, and Bertrand Bonello’s House of Tolerance lead the field with six nominations including Best Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay and a surprising three for Best Female Newcomer for actresses Alice Barnole, Adèle Haenel and Céline Sallette.

House of Tolerance is described as Bertrand Bonello’s highly stylized look at the final days of a fin-de-siècle brothel in Paris.

Michel Hazanavicius’s The Artist was right behind with five nominations including Best Film, Best Director, amd Best Screenplay. Other films with multiple nominations include Pierre Schoeller’s The Minister with four nominations and Aki Kaurismäki’s Le Havre with three nominations.

List of nominees:

Best Film
House of Tolerance – Bertrand Bonello
The Artist – Michel Hazanavicius
The Minister – Pierre Schoeller
Le Havre – Aki Kaurismäki
Untouchable – Eric Toledano and Olivier Nakache

Best Director
Bertrand Bonello – House of Tolerance
Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist
Maïwenn – Poliss
Aki Kaurismäki – Le Havre
Pierre Schoeller – The Minister

Best Screenplay
Bertrand Bonello – House of Tolerance
Robert Guédiguian and Jean-Louis Milesi – The Snows of Kilimanjaro
Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist
Maïwenn and Emmanuelle Bercot – Poliss
Pierre Schoeller – The Minister

Best Actress
Bérénice Béjo – The Artist
Catherine Deneuve and Chiara Mastroianni – The Beloved by Christophe Honoré
Valérie Donzelli – Declaration of War by Valérie Donzelli
Marina Fois and Karin Viard – Poliss
Clotilde Hesme – Angèle and Tony by Alix Delaporte

Best Actor
Jean Dujardin – The Artist
Olivier Gourmet – The Minister
Joey Starr – Poliss
Omar Sy – Untouchable
André Wilms – Le Havre

Best Female Newcomer
Alice Barnole – House of Tolerance
Adèle Haenel – House of Tolerance
Zoé Héran – Tomboy by Céline Sciamma
Céline Sallette – House of Tolerance
Anamaria Valtoromei – Little Princess [trailer] by Eva Ionesco

Best Male Newcomer
Grégory Gadebois – Angèle and Tony
Guillaume Gouix – Jimmy Rivière [trailer] by Teddy Lussi-Modeste
Raphaël Ferret – Guilty [trailer] by Vincent Garenq
Denis Ménochet – The Adopted [trailer] by Mélanie Laurent
Mahmoud Shalaby – Free Men [trailer] by Ismaël Ferroukhi

Best French-Language Film (from outside France)
Curling – Denis Côté (Canada)
Where Do We Go Now? [trailer] – Nadine Labaki (France/Lebanon/Italy)
Scorched – Denis Villeneuve (Canada)
The Kid With a Bike [trailer, film focus] – Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne (Belgium/France/Italy)
The Giants [trailer, film focus] – Bouli Lanners (Belgium/Luxembourg/France)

A very special mention for the dog-actor in The Artist

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.