No account yet? Register

Blayne Weaver, Patrick J. Adams and Natalie Morales in 6 Month Rule

The 2012 Vail Film Festival announced the complete line-up of 2012 films, taking place March 29th – April 1st, 2012 in Vail, Colorado. This year’s festival will showcase 58 films from around the world, including 20 feature-length films (10 narrative features and 10 documentaries), and 38 shorts, adventure, student, and animated.

The Vail Film Festival also announced the return of the “Cadillac Short Series” in Solaris Plaza, the only festival “venue” where the public is invited to view festival programming without tickets.

The 2012 Vail Film Festival will officially open on Thursday evening, March 29th at the Vail Mountain School with the U.S. premiere of ‘The Eye of the Storm.’ Directed by Fred Schepisi (“Roxanne,” “Six Degrees of Separation,”) ‘The Eye of the Storm’ stars Academy Award-winner® Geoffrey Rush, Charlotte Rampling and Judy Davis. ‘The Eye of the Storm’ is a savage exploration of the family relationships – and the sharp undercurrents of love and hate, comedy and tragedy – which define them. ‘The Eye of the Storm’ won The Age Critics’ Award at the Melbourne International Film Festival, the Premiere Special Jury Prize at the Rome Film Festival, and was nominated for twelve Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) awards. The film will be released in the US by Sycamore Entertainment Group Inc.

The Friday Night featured film will be ‘6 Month Rule.’ Written and directed by Vail Film Festival alum Blayne Weaver, the film stars Blayne Weaver, Martin Starr, Jaime Pressly, and Natalie Morales. Talented indie filmmaker Blayne Weaver gives us a romantic, charming, and poignant look at relationships, seen from the eyes of Tyler (Weaver), who lives by a philosophy that allows him to avoid making any significant connections with women.
Following the Saturday evening awards ceremony, the Vail Film Festival will present the Closing Night Film,‘L!fe Happens,’ helmed by Vail Film Festival alum and talented new director Kat Coiro, staring Krysten Ritter, Kate Bosworth, and Rachel Bilson. ‘L!fe Happens,’ co-written by Coiro, and lead actor Ritter, is a comedy centered on three young women who all live under the same roof in Los Angeles. When one of Kim’s one-night-stands results in an unexpected pregnancy, things take a sudden turn for the trio.

The 2012 Vail Film Festival also announced the winners of the Vail Screenplay Contest, part of the festival’s mission to foster independent film and give industry access to aspiring screenwriters. 1st Place Feature, Daniel Turkewitz (The Wright Stuff), 2nd Place Feature, Rachel Shepherd (Let’s Kill Peter) 3rd Place Feature, Jeff Trently & Anthony Stitt (Chances) 1st Place Short, Melissa Sweazy (The Department of Signs and Magical Intervention), 2nd Place Short, David C.C. Erickson (Samantha’s Thief), 3rd Place Short, Phyllis Heltay (Mustang).

The 2012 Vail Film Festival Film Program Includes:

Feature Films:
6 Month Rule, directed by Blayne Weaver
Downtown Express, directed by David Grubin
Inuk, directed by Mike Magidson
Irvine Welsh’s Ecstasy, directed by Rob Heydon
Life Happens, directed by Kat Coiro
Mariachi Gringo, directed by Tom Gustafson
The Eye of the Storm, directed by Fred Schepisi
The Mulberry Tree, directed by Mark Heller
Shuffle, directed by Kurt Kuenne
Puncture, directed by Adam Kassen & Mark Kassen

Andrew Bird: Fever Year, directed by Xan Aranda
Between the Harvest, directed by Scott Drucker
Last Call at the Oasis, directed by Jessica Yu
Words of Witness, directed by Mai Iskander
One Night Stand, directed by Trish Dalton & Elisabeth Sperling
Oscar, directed by Aoife Naughton
Sing, directed by Laura Crosta
With Great Power: The Stan Lee Story, directed by Terry Dougas, Nikki Frakes & Will Hess
Zero Percent, directed by Tim Skousen
Singleton: from the earth, directed by Robert A. Reid

Environmental Showcase Presented by Chipotle:
High Ground, directed by Michael Brown
Tipping Point: The End of Oil, directed by Tom Radford & Niobe Thompson

Adventure Films:
The Art of Flight, directed by Curt Morgan
The Movement, directed by Greg I Hamilton & Kurt Miller
Wyoming Triumph, directed by Chris Kitchen & Sam Pope

Free Hugs, directed by Olivia Wilde
A Morning with Gold in Its Mouth, directed by Samuel Dowe-Sandes
Arts & Crafts, directed by Jonathan Kesselman
Cadaver, directed by Jonah D. Ansell
Deerskin Lake, directed by Joshua Clark
dik, directed by Christopher Stollery
Everything is Incredible, directed by Tim Skousen, Trevor Hill, & Tyler Bastian
Fatakra, directed by Soham Mehta
I’m Having A Difficult Time Killing My Parents, directed by Jeff Tomsic
Mouthful, directed by Robert G. Putka
Protect The Nation, directed by C.R. Reisser
Queen, directed by Adam Rose
Souterrain, directed by Erwin Haecker
The Arm, directed by Brie Larson, Jessie Ennis, and Sarah Ramos
The Carrier, directed by Scott Schaeffer
The Jockstrap Raiders, directed by Mark Nelson
What’s Life Got to Do with It?, directed by Noah Weisberg
Christmas is Ruined, directed by Andrew Putschoegl
Lagun Mina, directed by Jose Mari Goenaga
The Monster Whisperer, directed by Elad Offer

Student Films:
Roleplay, directed by Brendan H. Banks
Happy Ones, The, directed by Brandon Zuck
Pushing Above the Highpoint, directed by Ben Thomas
Fixed, directed by Johnny Rutter
Ad & Subtract, directed by Laura Stephens
Live Outside the Box, directed by Shu-Hsuan Lin
Necking, directed by Lindsay Lindenbaum
My Friend the Thief, directed by Roland Kennedy
Commerce, directed by Lisa Robertson
Election Day, directed by Zach Wechter
Derek, directed by Alex Gray
X.C., directed by Sam Osborn
Lines, directed by Joselito Seldera

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.