No account yet? Register

Elena directed by Andrei Zvyagintsev took home this year’s Narrative Feature Jury prize, and Big Boys Gone Bananas!* by director Fredrik Gertten was the Documentary Jury Prize winner at the 2012 Sarasota Film Festival.  Two special jury prizes were awarded; in the Narrative category Alps directed by Giorgos Lanthimos took home a Special Jury Prize and for documentary Feature Competition special jury prize for Radio Unnameable directed by Paul Lovelace.

The festival’s juried award for Independent Vision went to The Unspeakable Act, directed by Dan Sallitt.  Two special jury prizes were awarded, one to Richard’s Wedding director Onur Tukel for screenplay and a performance award to Shanon Harper and Welcome to Pine Hill.

This year’s Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature was Missed Connections by Director, Martin Snyder.

The Audience Award for Best Documentary was presented to Ethel directed by Rory Kennedy.

The Best In World Cinema Audience Award went to Polisse – Director, Maiwenn and Best Short Film went to Tick Tock Time Emporium – Director, Morgan Faust.

The winners of the 2012 Sarasota Film Festival Awards:

Narrative Feature Competition Winner

Director, Andrei Zvyagintsev

Narrative Feature Competition

Special Jury Prize for Creative Achievement

Director, Giorgos Lanthimos

Documentary Feature Competition

Big Boys Gone Bananas!*
Director, Fredrik Gertten

Documentary Feature Competition

Special Jury Prize

Radio Unnameable
Director, Paul Lovelace

Audience Awards

Best Documentary Feature

Directors, Rory Kennedy

Audience Award

Best Short Film

Tick Tock Time Emporium
Director, Morgan Faust

Audience Award

Best Narrative Feature

Missed Connections
Director, Martin Snyder

Audience Award

Best In World Cinema

Director, Maiwenn

Independent Vision Prize Winners

Independent Vision Prize

The Unspeakable Act
Director, Dan Sallitt

Special Jury Prize for Screenplay

Richard’s Wedding
Onur Tukel

Special Jury Prize for Performance

Welcome to Pine Hill – Shanon Harper

youthFEST Junior Jury Award Best Family Short Film

Private Eyes
Director, Nicoles Lemay

YouthFEST Best Family Short Film Audience Award

Director, Marco Gianfreda

youthFEST Young Filmmakers Digital Showcase

Director, Gabriela Capestany.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.