Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

Lad: A Yorkshire Story

Lad: A Yorkshire Story, directed by Dan Hartley was awarded the top prize, the Golden Oosikars for Best Feature at the 2012 Anchorage International Film Festival which ran November 30 to December 12, 2012 in Anchorage, Alaska.   Set in the starkly beautiful Yorkshire Dales, the film is described as a heart-warming tale of two individuals overcoming adversity and in the process forming a unique and inspiring friendship.

Roadmap to Apartheid, directed by Ana Nogueira won the award for Best Documentary.  Co- directors Ana Nogueira and Eron Davidson are respectively a white South African and a Jewish Israeli. Drawing on their first-hand knowledge of the issues, the directors take a close look at the apartheid comparison often used to describe the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Their film breaks down the rhetorical analogy into a fact-based comparison, noting where the analogy is useful and appropriate, and where it is not. Their film is as much a historical document of the rise and fall of Apartheid as it is a film about why Palestinians feel that they are living in an Apartheid system today, and why an increasing number of people around the world agree with them.

The complete list of Golden Oosikars winners at the 2012 Anchorage International Film Festival

Golden Oosikars


Best Feature: “Lad: A Yorkshire Story“, directed by Dan Hartley

Runner Up: “Things I Don’t Understand“, directed by David Spaltro

Honorable Mention: “Shouting Secrets“, directed by Korinna Sehringer



Best Documentary: “Roadmap to Apartheid“, directed by Ana Nogueira

Runner Up: “The World Before Her“, directed by Nisha Dahuja

Honorable Mention: “Ping Pong“, directed by Hugh Hartford



Best Short: “Lapse“, directed by Gilles Gueraz

Runner Up: “Calcutta Taxi“, directed by Vikram Dasgupta

Honorable Mention: “Cockatoo“, directed by Matthew Jenkin


Super Shorts

Best Super Short: “Her Next Door“, directed by Sasha Ransome

Runner Up: “Matriarche“, directed by Guillaume Pierret

Honorable Mention: “Polarised“, directed by Steve Fleming



Best Animation: “Paths of Hate“, directed by Damian Nenow

Runner Up: “Light Me Up“, directed by Ryan Walton and Derek Dolechek

Honorable Mention: “Lemons“, directed by Kate Burck




Best Snowdance Documentary: “Rousseau’s Children“, directed by Monika Scharer

Runner Up: “No Horizon Anymore: A Year Long Journey at the Bottom of the World“, directed by Keith Reimink



Best Snowdance Short: “I Met Her in the Coffee Shop“, directed by Erik Hogan

Runner Up: “Scare“, directed by Matt Jardin


Audience Choice



Audience Choice Feature: “Passionflower“, directed by Shelagh Carter

Runner Up: “Shouting Secrets“, directed by Korinna Sehringer



Audience Choice Documentary: “Espacios Inacabados (Unfinished Spaces)“, directed by Alysa Nahmias and Benjamin Murray

Runner Up: “Wolves Unleashed“, directed by Andrew Simpson

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.