No account yet? Register

Djerassi Resident Artists ProgramDjerassi Resident Artists Program

The San Francisco Film Society, in partnership with the Djerassi Resident Artists Program, announced the finalists for the 2014 Djerassi Residency Award / San Francisco Film Society Screenwriting Fellowship, given annually to encourage the career of an emerging or established screenwriter. The fellowship is one of a number of screenwriting initiatives offered by Filmmaker360, the Film Society’s innovative and dynamic filmmaker services program.

The Djerassi Residency Award / San Francisco Film Society Screenwriting Fellowship provides uninterrupted time for work, reflection and collegial interaction, making this award unique in its capacity to provide a screenwriter with an inspiring and supportive environment in a stunningly beautiful rural location. Located 40 miles south of San Francisco in the Santa Cruz Mountains overlooking the Pacific Ocean, this residency offers living and work-studio accommodations and all meals from August 5 through September 3, 2014, at no cost to the recipient. The finalists were selected from applications submitted in response to an international call for entries.

Bretten Hannam — SPEAK THE WOLF
A rebellious Métis teenager finds himself at a youth boot camp in the far north. After accidentally shooting a staff member, he flees into the Arctic, where he encounters a young Inuit hunter. Stranded in a remote hunting camp, they are forced to face their inner demons in order to survive.

A washed up miracle maker, crippled by the problems and demands of a desperate world, runs away from her destiny and uncovers the land beyond her control.

Lea Nakonechny — A SWEETER WORLD
After falling on hard times when his bees die off, Jim Wiebe kills a competing beekeeper for his honey. Finding refuge in a Hutterite colony, he sees a chance at salvation. But how long can a guilty man stay in a place where the number one rule is to love thy neighbor?

Previous recipients of the Djerassi Residency Award are Joshua Zeman (2013) for his scientific drama Collider, Julie Tosh (2012) for her science fiction-infused family drama Program Rose, Adam Chanzit (2011) for his psychological thriller The 15th Stone and Kathryn Mockler (2010) for her project Weak People Are Fun to Torment.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.