No account yet? Register

Political Animals
Political Animals

The Provincetown International Film Festival (PIFF) announced the award winners of this year’s festival, with THE INNOCENTS, THE MUSIC OF STRANGERS: YO-YO MA AND THE SILK ROAD ENSEMBLE, and POLITICAL ANIMALS winning the Audience Awards.

Ang Lee was also presented with the 2016 Filmmaker on the Edge Award, and Cynthia Nixon received the Excellence in Acting Award.

The festival also announced the dates for next year’s event as June 14-18, 2017.

The 2016 Provincetown International Film Festival award winners are:

HBO Audience Award / Best Narrative Feature: THE INNOCENTS directed by Anne Fontaine

Warsaw, December 1945: a young French Red Cross doctor is summoned to a local convent where she discovers several nuns in various states of pregnancy, facing an unprecedented crisis of faith as their fiercely private world clashes with harsh realities. Based on true events, this thrilling drama is from Anne Fontaine (Coco Before Chanel, Gemma Bovary), who is at her best when transporting us to intimate worlds of women courageously crossing verboten boundaries.

HBO Audience Award / Best Documentary Feature (tie): THE MUSIC OF STRANGERS: YO-YO MA AND THE SILK ROAD ENSEMBLE, directed by Morgan Neville and POLITICAL ANIMALS directed by Jonah Markowitz and Tracy Wares

From the director of the Oscar-winning documentary 20 Feet from Stardom (PIFF 2013) and the critically acclaimed Best of Enemies (PIFF 2015) Morgan Neville’s new film tells the extraordinary story of the renowned international musical collective created by legendary cellist (and local hero) Yo-Yo Ma. THE MUSIC OF STRANGERS follows a group of master musicians from around the world who come together and explore the power of music to preserve tradition, shape cultural evolution and inspire hope.

POLITICAL ANIMALS is the inspiring portrait of four defiant women who refused to let hatred and homophobia stop them from making history and achieving legal recognition for LGBT people throughout California and the United States. Former California state representatives Sheila Kuehl, Jackie Goldberg, Christine Kehoe and Carole Migden get the recognition they richly deserve in this unforgettable documentary.

HBO Short Documentary Award: TERRITORY, directed by Eleanor Mortimer

The John Schlesinger Award, presented to a first time feature filmmaker (narrative): BLOOD STRIPE, directed by Remy Auberjonois

A U.S. Marine sergeant returns home from her third tour of duty in Afghanistan. Feeling disconnected from her home life, she retreats deep into Minnesota’s North Woods. There she seeks refuge at a picturesque summer camp. Kate Nowlin is mesmerizing in this tour de force performance that vividly illustrates the psychological complexities of a former soldier barely holding it together as she adjusts to everyday life.

The John Schlesinger Award, presented to a first time feature filmmaker (documentary): OFF THE RAILS, directed by Adam Irving

OFF THE RAILS tells the remarkable true story of Darius McCollum, a man with Asperger’s syndrome, whose love of transit has landed him in jail 32 times for impersonating NYC transit employees. Darius has commandeered hundreds of trains and buses, staying en route and on schedule. As a result, he has spent 23 years in prison. Director Adam Irving’s debut elegantly describes our criminal justice system’s failure to channel the passions of a harmless, mentally challenged man.

Here Media Award – Best Queer Short Film: ONE LAST NIGHT, directed by Kerem Blumberg

Best Narrative Short Film: THUNDER ROAD, directed by Jim Cummings

Best Animated Short Film: GLOVE, directed by Alexa Haas and Bernardo Britto

Best New England Short Film: BLACK CANARIES, directed by Jesse Kreitzer

Best Student Short Film: THE MINK CATCHER, directed by Samantha Buck

Special Mention: ¡MAIS DURO!, directed by Camila Saldarriaga

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.