No account yet? Register

I America
I America

The 12th Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival under the theme “Break the Surface” will be bigger this year as it expands its reach beyond Metro Manila to Cebu City, and will take place August 5 to 14, 2016.

This year’s festival marks the return of the Full Length Feature category.

Nine entries will vie for the Cinemalaya Award:

Ang Bagong Pamilya Ni Ponching by Inna Miren Salazar and Dos Ocampo,

Dagsin by Atom Magadia,

Hiblang Abo by Ralston Jover,

I America by Ivan Andrew Payawal,

Kusina by David Corpuz and Cenon Palomares,

Lando at Bugoy by Vic Acedillo, Jr.,

Mercury Is Mine by Jason Paul Laxamana,

Pamilya Ordinaryo by Eduardo Roy, Jr.,

Tuos by Derick Cabrido.

Ten entries will compete in the Short Feature category:

Ang Hapon Ni Nanding (Nanding’s Afternoons) by Rommel Tolentino,
Ang Maangas, Ang Marikit at Ang Makata by Jose Ibarra Guballa,
Bugtaw by Noah Del Rosario,
Butas by Richard Cawed,
Fish Out Of Water by Mon A.L. Garilao,
Forever Natin by Cyrus Valdez,
Get Certified by Isaias Herrera Zantua,
Mansyong Papel by Ogos Aznar,
Nakauwi Na by John Relano, Patrick Baleros and Luis Hidalgo,
Pektus by Isabel Quesada.

Cinemalaya will offer the following sections this year: Festival’s Best, Asian Showcase, Documentaries, Tribute to Francis Pasion, and Cinemalaya Institute showcase.

A new feature of this year’s festival will be the participation of young celebrities who will take on the role of Cinemalaya Navigators. As such, they will engage with audiences in conversations about the Cinemalaya films.

Also new this year is the partnership of Cinemalaya and Eigasai Japanese Film Festival, through the Japan Foundation. As allied festivals, Cinemalaya and Eigasai will encourage film exchange, help in the promotion of both events, and contribute to audience building and film education.

Under this alliance, Eigasai brings in two films– Ken and Kazu by Hiroshi Shoji and August in Tokyo by Ryutaro Nakagawa— to Cinemalaya’s Asian Section. Ken and Kazu will be the opening film of the Asian Section. Both films will be free admission. As part of Eigasai Film Festival, the CCP will host the screening of The Emperor in August by Masato Harada on July 8.

The Asian Section will feature award winning NETPAC films:

Child Of Debt by Umashankar Swamy (India/Kannada, 2015),
Mina Walking by Yosef Baraki (Afghanistan/Canada, 2015 ),
Motor Bicycle by Shameera Rangana Naotunna (Sri Lanka, 2015),
Stranger by Yermek Tursunov(Kazakhstan, 2015),
The Kids by Sunny Yu(Taiwan, 2015),
Under Heaven by Dalmira Tilepbergen (Kyrgyzstan, 2015),
Until I Lose My Breath by Emine Emel Balci(Turkey-Germany, 2015).

The Asian Section will also screen River Road by Li Ruijun(China, 2014).

The Tribute to Francis Pasion honors the life and work of the late Cinemalaya director who passed away in March 2016. His films Bwaya (Cinemalaya 2014 Best Film, Best Cinematography & Best Score), Jay (Cinemalaya 2008 Best Film, Best Editing, Best Actor) and Sampagita (2010 Cinemalaya Special Jury Prize) will be shown in this retrospective.

Lav Diaz’ Hele sa Hiwagang Hinagpis, which won the Silver Bear at the 2016 Berlin Film Festival, will be shown in the Special Screenings section, along with his Ang Araw Bago ang Wakas. The Special Screenings section will also spotlight the work of Jaclyn Jose, recently awarded Best Actress in this year’s Cannes Film Festival, and Nick De Ocampo’s historical documentaries Eiga and Gunita, among others.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.