No account yet? Register

Citizen Jane: Battle for the City
Citizen Jane: Battle for the City

The U.S. premiere of Citizen Jane: Battle for the City, directed by Matt Tyrnauer (Valentino: The Last Emperor) will open the seventh annual edition of DOC NYC on Thursday, November 10, 2016, at the SVA Theatre.

The film documents the historic conflict in the 1960s between the writer and activist Jane Jacobs and the legendary power broker/urban-renewal tsar Robert Moses over plans to tear down much of New York City and replace it with highways and austere housing projects. (The film is co-produced by High Line co-founder Robert Hammond.)

“We couldn’t pick a more fitting film for New York City,” said DOC NYC artistic director Thom Powers. “We take inspiration from Jane Jacobs’ belief in the power of culture to enrich a community.”

DOC NYC announced key honorees for the third annual Visionaries Tribute lunch, taking place November 10.

Lifetime Achievement Awards are given for a distinguished output of documentaries.  This year’s two recipients are Jonathan Demme and Stanley Nelson.

Jonathan Demme has consistently interspersed his acclaimed fiction films with a remarkable body of nonfiction work. His documentaries split between performance films such as Stop Making Sense, Swimming to Cambodia, Neil Young: Heart of Gold, and his latest work, Justin Timberlake + The Tennessee Kids; and profiles such as Cousin Bobby, The Agronomist, Jimmy Carter: Man From Plains, and I’m Carolyn Parker.

Stanley Nelson has distinguished himself both as a filmmaker and as a champion of nurturing new voices through his organization Firelight Media. His directing credits include Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution, Freedom Summer, Freedom Riders, Wounded Knee, Jonestown: The Life and Death of Peoples Temple, A Place of Our Own, The Murder of Emmett Till,and Marcus Garvey: Look for Me in the Whirlwind.

Past Lifetime Achievement recipients are Jon Alpert, Chris Hegedus, Barbara Kopple, Albert Maysles, DA Pennebaker and Fred Wiseman.

The Leading Light Award is given to a mid-career professional who has served documentary in a role outside of filmmaking. This year’s recipient is Molly Thompson, the founder and head of A&E IndieFilms, the feature documentary division of A+E Studios. Her credits as an executive producer include the Academy Award® nominated films, Cartel Land, Jesus Camp, and Murderball, as well as American Teen, The September Issue, The Tillman Story, Cave of Forgotten Dreams, Client 9: The Rise and Fall of Eliot Spitzer, Under African Skies, The Imposter, No Place on Earth, The Unknown Known, and two films this year, Author: The JT Leroy Story and Life, Animated.

Past recipients of the Leading Light Award are Dan Cogan and Tom Quinn.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.