No account yet? Register

WEINER, Josh Kriegman and Elyse Steinberg

Cinema Eye today announced their annual list of The Unforgettables – this year’s most notable and significant nonfiction film subjects.

The list includes a director/cinematographer that is barely glimpsed on-screen (Kirsten Johnson in Cameraperson), a couple who have remained in the national news even as their film opened in theatres this summer (Huma Abedin and Anthony Weiner in Weiner) and two subjects who ride the sometimes blurry line between participant and performer (Michal Huszcza in All These Sleepless Nights and Kate Lyn Sheil in Kate Plays Christine).

In all, 18 individuals from 15 films were selected for the Unforgettables list by Cinema Eye’s nominations committee, which is comprised of some of the world’s top documentary film programmers and curators, as well as the 2016 filmmakers in the running for this year’s awards, nominations for which will be announced November 2, 2016 in Brooklyn at the newly-opened Alamo Drafthouse.

“For the fourth year, we are proud to celebrate the collaborative process of documentary filmmaking by acknowledging the role that subjects play in creating many of the year’s best films”, said Cinema Eye Managing Director Will Lennon. “Particularly this year, we note the extraordinary access granted by the subjects and earned by the filmmakers that led to unforgettable moments in nonfiction cinema.”

The Unforgettables is one of Cinema Eye’s non-competitive Distinctive Honors. Subjects selected to this list of Unforgettables will be acknowledged at the Cinema Eye Honors Lunch, held on Tuesday, January 10, 2017 in Manhattan.

In addition, the Museum of the Moving Image, which has been home to the Cinema Eye Awards Ceremony since 2011, announced its 10-week series highlighting films from the first #CEHDecade: “Pushing the Envelope: A Decade of Documentary’s Cinema Eye Honors”. The series will kick off Friday, November 4, 2016 with the first winner of Cinema Eye’s Outstanding Nonfiction Feature award, Jason Kohn’s Manda Bala (Send a Bullet). The series will continue through November and December with highlights from Cinema Eye’s first decade, including CEH winning films from Laura Poitras, Sarah Polley, Banksy, Joshua Oppenheimer, Asif Kapadia, James Marsh and Bill & Turner Ross.

2016 Cinema Eye Honors Unforgettables

Michal Huszcza
All These Sleepless Nights

Audrie Pott and Daisy Coleman
Audrie & Daisy

Laura Albert
Author: The JT Leroy Story

Kirsten Johnson

Aisholpan Nurgaiv
The Eagle Huntress

Samuele Pucillo
Fire at Sea

Steve Gleason and Michel Varisco

Ye Haiyan
Hooligan Sparrow

Kate Shiel
Kate Plays Christine

Owen Suskind
Life, Animated

Sharon Jones
Miss Sharon Jones!

Peter Dunning
Peter and the Farm

Princess Shaw
Presenting Princess Shaw

Sonita Alidazeh

Huma Abedin and Anthony Weiner

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.