No account yet? Register

The Look of Silence
The Look of Silence

10 filmmakers and 20 films have been named as among the top achievements in nonfiction filmmaking over Cinema Eye’s first decade. The 20 films and 10 filmmakers will be honored by Cinema Eye at an event on Wednesday, November 2, 2016 in New York City, where the organization will also announce its nominees for the 10th Annual Cinema Eye Honors. The awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, January 11, at the Museum of the Moving Image in Queens, New York.

Cinema Eye Decade Filmmakers

including their CEH nominated films and year of nomination

Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady
12th and Delaware (2011), Detropia (2013), The Education of Mohammed Hussain (2014)

Alex Gibney
Taxi to the Dark Side (2008), Gonzo: The Life and Work of Dr. Hunter S. Thompson (2009), Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God (2014), We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks (2014) and Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief (2015)

Patricio Guzman
Nostalgia for the Light (2012)

Werner Herzog
Encounters at the End of the World (2009), Cave of Forgotten Dreams (2012), Into the Abyss (2013)

Steve James
The Interrupters (2012), Life Itself (2015)

Kim Longinotto
Rough Aunties (2010), Dreamcatcher (2016)

Joshua Oppenheimer
The Act of Killing (2014), The Look of Silence (2016)

Laura Poitras
The Oath (2011), Death of a Prisoner (2014), Citizenfour (2015)

Bill Ross and Turner Ross
45365 (2010), Tchoupitoulas (2013), Western (2016)

Frederick Wiseman
La Danse: The Paris Opera Ballet (2011), In Jackson Heights (2016)

Cinema Eye Decade Films

including their CEH wins

The Act of Killing (2014)
Directed by Joshua Oppenheimer (Outstanding Feature, Production)

The Arbor (2012)
Directed by Clio Barnard (Outstanding Debut)

Citizenfour (2015)
Directed by Laura Poitras (Outstanding Feature, Direction, Production, Editing)

Cutie and the Boxer (2014)
Directed by Zachary Heinzerling (Outstanding Debut, Score, Graphic Design and Animation)

Exit Through the Gift Shop (2011)
Directed by Banksy (Outstanding Feature, Editing)

How to Survive a Plague (2013)
Directed by David France (Outstanding Editing)

The Interrupters (2012)
Directed by Steve James (Outstanding Feature, Direction)

Iraq in Fragments (2007)
Directed by James Longley

Last Train Home (2011)
Directed by Lixin Fan (Outstanding Production, Cinematography, International Feature)

Leviathan (2014)
Directed by Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel (Outstanding Cinematography)

The Look of Silence (2016)
Directed by Joshua Oppenheimer (Outstanding Feature, Direction, Production)

Man on Wire (2009)
Directed by James Marsh (Outstanding Feature, Production, Editing)

Manda Bala (Send a Bullet) (2008)
Directed by Jason Kohn (Outstanding Feature, Editing, Cinematography)

Marwencol (2011)
Directed by Jeff Malmberg (Outstanding Debut)

Nostalgia for the Light (2012)
Directed by Patricio Guzman

The Oath (2011)
Directed by Laura Poitras (Outstanding Direction)

The Order of Myths (2009)
Directed by Margaret Brown

Senna (2012)
Directed by Asif Kapadia (Outstanding Editing)

Stories We Tell (2014)
Directed by Sarah Polley (Outstanding Direction)

Waltz With Bashir (2009)
Directed by Ari Folman (Outstanding Direction, Score, Graphic Design and Animation, International Feature)


Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.