No account yet? Register

I, Daniel Blake
I, Daniel Blake

I, Daniel Blake topped the list of nominations for the 2016 British Independent Film Awards (BIFA) announced this morning by British actors Ophelia Lovibond and Douglas Booth at The London EDITION. The film is nominated for Best British Independent Film, Best Director and Best Screenplay. Its stars Hayley Squires and Dave Johns are each nominated twice – for Best Actress and Best Actor, and competing against each other for Most Promising Newcomer.

The Best British Independent Film nominees for 2016 are American Honey (six nominations), Couple in a Hole (two nominations), I, Daniel Blake (seven nominations), Notes on Blindness (six nominations) and Under The Shadow (six nominations). Over 130 British films were submitted for consideration and 32 different British feature films have been nominated across the awards.

2016 is a particularly strong year for new talent in the performance categories with Most Promising Newcomer nominees Dave Johns and Hayley Squires (I, Daniel Blake) and Steve Brandon (My Feral Heart) also nominated for Best Actor and Best Actress awards respectively. In the Best Actress category, Jodie Whitaker (Adult Life Skills) and Kate Dickie (Couple in a Hole) receive their second BIFA nominations, other nominees Hayley Squires (I, Daniel Blake), Narges Rashidi (Under the Shadow) and Sasha Lane (American Honey) are all nominated for the first time.

For Best Actor, Dave Johns (I, Daniel Blake), Max Records (I Am Not a Serial Killer), Shia LaBeouf (American Honey) and Steve Brandon (My Feral Heart) are all first-time nominees. Michael Fassbender (Trespass Against Us) rounds off the Best Actor category, nominated for the third consecutive year with his sixth nomination, having previously won Best Actor for Hunger (2008) and Shame (2011). All those in the Best Supporting Actress and Best Supporting Actor categories are first time nominees with the exception of Sean Harris (Trespass Against Us) who is nominated in this category for the third consecutive year.

In the Best Director category American Honey Director Andrea Arnold receives her fourth BIFA nomination having won in the same category for Fish Tank in 2009. Ken Loach is nominated for I, Daniel Blake, his fifth BIFA nomination. Loach won in this category for My Name Is Joe in 1998 when he was also awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award. Loach has also previously been recognized with a Special Jury Prize in 2006 when The Wind That Shakes the Barley was nominated for four awards and shared in the Special Jury Prize for Sixteen Films/Team Loach in 2013. Ben Wheatley is nominated for Free Fire, his fifth BIFA nomination: Wheatley won the Raindance Award for his feature film debut Down Terrace in 2009. Babak Anvari is nominated for the first time for Under The Shadow for which he is also nominated for The Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director. Directing partners Peter Middleton and James Spinney also receive their first BIFA nominations for both Best Director and The Douglas Hickox Award for their debut Notes on Blindness.

The Richard Harris Award is to be announced in November. The award, introduced in 2002 in honor of Richard Harris, recognizes outstanding contribution to British film by an actor. Previous winners have been John Hurt, David Thewlis, Bob Hoskins, Jim Broadbent, Daniel Day-Lewis, Helena Bonham Carter, Ralph Fiennes, Michael Gambon, Julie Walters, Emma Thompson and Chiwetel Ejiofor in 2015.

As previously announced Naomie Harris will receive The Variety Award, which recognizes a director, actor, writer or producer who has made a global impact that helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK. Past winners include Kate Winslet, Benedict Cumberbatch, Paul Greengrass, Jude Law, Kenneth Branagh, Liam Neeson, Sir Michael Caine, Daniel Craig, Dame Helen Mirren and Richard Curtis to name a few.

The full list of 2016 British Independent Film Awards Nominations

Best British Independent Film

American Honey
Couple in a Hole
I, Daniel Blake
Notes on Blindness
Under the Shadow

Best Director

Andrea Arnold
 – American Honey
Ben Wheatley
 – Free Fire
Ken Loach
 – I, Daniel Blake
James Spinney & Pete Middleton
 – Notes on Blindness
Babak Anvari – Under the Shadow

Best Screenplay 

Sponsored by BBC Films

Adult Life Skills
American Honey
I Am Not A Serial Killer
I, Daniel Blake
Under the Shadow

Best Actor

Shia LaBeouf
 – American Honey
Max Records – I Am Not A Serial Killer
Dave Johns – 
I, Daniel Blake
Steve Brandon – My Feral Heart
Michael Fassbender – Trespass Against Us

Best Actress 

Sponsored by M.A.C Cosmetics

Jodie Whittaker – Adult Life Skills
Sasha Lane – 
American Honey
Kate Dickie
 – Couple in a Hole
Hayley Squires – 
I, Daniel Blake
Narges Rashidi – 
Under the Shadow

Best Supporting Actor

Brett Goldstein
 – Adult Life Skills
Jamie Dornan – 
Christopher Lloyd – 
I Am Not A Serial Killer
Arinzé Kene – 
The Pass
Sean Harris – 
Trespass Against Us

Best Supporting Actress

Gemma Arterton
 – The Girl With All the Gifts
Shana Swash
 – My Feral Heart
Naomie Harris
 – Our Kind of Traitor
Avin Manshadi
 – Under the Shadow
Terry Pheto – 
A United Kingdom

Most Promising Newcomer 

Sponsored by The London EDITION

Sennia Nanua
 – The Girl With All the Gifts
Hayley Squires – 
I, Daniel Blake
Dave Johns – 
I, Daniel Blake
Steve Brandon
 – My Feral Heart
Letitia Wright
 – Urban Hymn

The Douglas Hickox Award (Debut Director)

Rachel Tunnard
 – Adult Life Skills
Pete Middleton & James  Spinney
 – Notes on Blindness
Alice Lowe – 
Adam Smith
 – Trespass Against Us
Babak Anvari
 – Under the Shadow

Outstanding Achievement in Craft

Robbie Ryan
 – American Honey
Shaheen Baig – 
Free Fire
Seb Barker – 
The Girl With All the Gifts
Joakim Sundström
 – Notes on Blindness
Paul Monaghan & Mat Whitecross
 – Supersonic

Best Documentary

The Confession: Living the War on Terror
The Hard Stop
Notes on Blindness
Versus: The Life and Films of Ken Loach

Best International Independent Film

Hunt for the Wilderpeople
Manchester by the Sea
Toni Erdmann

Best British Short

Rate Me
The Wrong End of the Stick

The Discovery Award 

Sponsored by Raindance

Black Mountain Poets
The Darkest Universe
The Ghoul
The Greasy Strangler

Breakthrough Producer

Michael Berliner – 
Adult Life Skills
Camille Gatin – 
The Girl With All the Gifts
Dionne Walker
 – The Hard Stop
Mike Brett & Jo Jo Ellison & Steve Jamison
 – Notes on Blindness
Paul Fegan
 – Where You’re Meant To Be

Debut Screenwriter

Rachel Tunnard – 
Adult Life Skills
Hope Dickson Leach
 – The Levelling
Simon Farnaby & Julian Barratt – 
John Cairns & Michael McCartney
 – A Patch of Fog
Ed Talfan – 
Yr Ymadawiad

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.