No account yet? Register

The Distinguished Citizen (El ciudadano ilustre)
The Distinguished Citizen (El ciudadano ilustre)

The 28th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF), taking place January 2 to 16, 2017, announced the films selected to compete for the FIPRESCI Award in the Awards Buzz section. The Festival will screen 43 of the 85 official submissions to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Best Foreign Language Film.

A special jury of international film critics will review these films to present the FIPRESCI Award for Best Foreign Language Film of the Year, as well as Best Actor and Best Actress in this category.

The following 43 films are selected to screen (in alphabetical order by country):

The Distinguished Citizen (Argentina), Directors: Mariano Cohn, Gastón Duprat
Stefan Zweig: Farewell to Europe (Austria), Director: Maria Schrader
The Ardennes (Belgium), Director: Robin Pront
Sealed Cargo (Bolivia), Director: Julia Vargas Weise
Death in Sarajevo (Bosnia & Herzegovina), Director: Danis Tanović
It’s Only the End of the World (Canada), Director: Xavier Dolan
Neruda (Chile), Director: Pablo Larraín
On the Other Side (Croatia), Director: Zrinko Ogresta
Land of Mine (Denmark), Director: Martin Pieter Zandvliet
Clash (Egypt), Director: Mohamed Diab
Mother (Estonia), Director: Kardi Kousaar
The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Mäki (Finland), Director: Juho Kuosmanen
Elle (France), Director: Paul Verhoeven
Toni Erdmann (Germany), Director: Maren Ade
Kills on Wheels (Hungary), Director: Attila Till
Sparrows (Iceland), Director: Rúnar Rúnarsson
Interrogation (India), Director: Vetri Maaran
The Salesman (Iran), Director: Asghar Farhadi
El clásico (Iraq), Director: Halkawt Mustafa
Sand Storm (Israel), Director: Elite Zexer
Fire at Sea (Italy), Director: Gianfranco Rosi
Nagasaki: Memories Of My Son (Japan), Director: Yoji Yamada
Very Big Shot (Lebanon), Director: Mir-Jean Bou Chaaya
The Liberation of Skopje (Macedonia), Directors: Rade Šerbedžija, Danilo Šerbedžija
The Black Hen (Nepal), Director: Min Bahadur Bham
Tonio (Netherlands), Director: Paula van der Oest
A Flickering Truth (New Zealand), Director: Pietra Brettkelly
The King’s Choice (Norway), Director: Erik Poppe
The Idol (Palestine), Director: Hany Abu-Assad
Ma’ Rosa (Philippines), Director: Brillante Mendoza
Afterimage (Poland), Director: Andrzej Wajda
Sieranevada (Romania), Director: Cristi Puiu
Paradise (Russia), Director: Andrei Konchalovsky
Barakah Meets Barakah (Saudi Arabia), Director: Mahmoud Sabbagh
Train Driver’s Diary (Serbia), Director: Miloš Radović
Apprentice (Singapore), Director: Boo Junfeng
Houston, We Have a Problem! (Slovenia), Director: Ziga Virc
Call Me Thief (South Africa), Director: Daryne Joshua
The Age of Shadows (South Korea). Director: Kim Jee-woon
Julieta (Spain). Director: Pedro Almodóvar
A Man Called Ove (Sweden), Director: Hannes Holm
My Life as a Zucchini (Switzerland), Director: Claude Barras
Under the Shadow (UK), Director: Babak Anvari

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.