Cannes Film Festival

The Cannes Film Festival announced the 2017 Official Selection of short films In Competition and the Cinéfondation Selection.  The Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury, presided by Cristian Mungiu, will then decide on the best films both from the Short Films Competition and the Cinéfondation.

The 2017 Short Films Competition comprises 9 films (8 works of fictions and 1 animation), from Finland, France, United Kingdom, Denmark, Greece, Iran, USA, Poland, China, Colombia and Sweden. These films are all in the running for the 2017 Short Film Palme d’or, to be awarded by Cristian Mungiu, President of the Jury, at the official award ceremony of the 70th Festival de Cannes on 28th May.

To mark its 20th year, the Cinéfondation Selection has chosen 16 films (14 works of fiction and 2 animations), from among the 2,600 works submitted this year by film schools from all over the world. Fourteen countries from three continents are represented. Four of the films selected come from schools taking part for the first time. The three Cinéfondation prizes will be awarded at a ceremony preceding the screening of the prize-winning films on Friday 26th May in the Buñuel Theatre.



Teppo Airaksinen – KATTO (Ceiling) Finland
Lucrèce Andreae – PÉPÉ LE MORSE – animation (Grandpa Walrus) France
Mahdi Fleifel – A DROWNING MAN United Kingdom, Denmark, Grece
Alireza Ghasemi – LUNCH TIME Iran
Fiona Godivier – ACROSS MY LAND USA
Grzegorz Molda – KONIEC WIDZENIA (Time to go) Poland
Qiu Yang – XIAO CHENG ER YUE (A Gentle Night) China
Andrés Ramirez Pulido – DAMIANA Colombia
Julia Thelin – PUSH IT Sweden



Yuval Aharoni – BEN MAMSHICH (Heritage) – Steve Tisch School of Film & Television, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Bahman Ark, Bahram Ark – HEYVAN (Animal) – Iranian National School of Cinema, Iran
Michal Blasko – ATLANTÍDA, 2003 (Atlantis, 2003) – FTF VŠMU, Slovakia
Stijn Bouma – LEJLA – Sarajevo Film Academy, Bosnia-Herzegovina
Eduardo Brandao Pinto – VAZIO DO LADO DE FORA (Empty on the Outside) – Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
Aya Igashi – TOKERU – Toho Gakuen Film Techniques Training College, Japan
Payal Kapadia – AFTERNOON CLOUDS – Film and Television Institute of India (FTII), India
Léa Krawczyk – À PERDRE HALEINE – La Poudrière, France
Marian Mathias – GIVE UP THE GHOST – NYU Tisch School of the Arts, USA
Valentina Maurel – PAUL EST LÀ (Paul is Here) – INSAS, Belgium
Imge Özbilge – CAMOUFLAGE – KASK, Belgium
Roberto Porta – PEQUEÑO MANIFIESTO EN CONTRA DEL CINE SOLEMNE (Little Manifesto Against Solemn Cinema) – Universidad del Cine (FUC), Argentina
Rory Stewart – WILD HORSES – NFTS, UK
Áron Szenpeteri – LÁTHATATLANUL (Invisibly) – Színház-és Filmművészeti Egyetem, Hungaria
Tommaso Usberti – DEUX ÉGARÉS SONT MORTS – La Fémis, France
WANG Yi-Ling – YIN SHIAN BIEN JIAN GON LU (Towards the Sun) – National Taiwan University of Arts, Taiwan

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.