No account yet? Register

Frederick Elmes
Frederick Elmes

Cinematographer Frederick Elmes (AFI Class of 1972) will receive the American Film Institute (AFI) 2017 Franklin J. Schaffner Alumni Medal.

This honor recognizes the extraordinary creative talents of an AFI alumnus or alumna who embodies the qualities of filmmaker Franklin J. Schaffner: talent, taste, dedication and commitment to quality storytelling in film and television. Applauding the ongoing career of the influential artist who has lensed such films as ERASERHEAD (1977), RIVER’S EDGE (1986), BLUE VELVET (1986), WILD AT HEART (1990) and THE ICE STORM (1997), as well as TV’s OLIVE KITTERIDGE and THE NIGHT OF, the presentation of the Schaffner Medal will take place at the AFI Life Achievement Award Gala Tribute to Diane Keaton in Hollywood on June 8, 2017.

Over the past five decades, Elmes has brought to life stories from cinema’s most fearless iconoclasts — including John Cassavetes, David Lynch, Jim Jarmusch, Ang Lee and AFI Life Achievement Award honoree Diane Keaton, with whom he collaborated on her directorial debut HEAVEN (1987). He has received a Primetime Emmy® nomination, two Film Independent Spirit Awards and a New York Film Critics Circle Award, among other accolades, and is a member of the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC).

From among an elite community of nearly 5,000 AFI graduates, Elmes joins an esteemed group of past recipients that includes Darren Aronofsky (BLACK SWAN), Lesli Link Glatter (HOMELAND), Patty Jenkins (WONDER WOMAN), Janusz Kamiński (SCHINDLER’S LIST), David Lynch (BLUE VELVET), Terrence Malick (THE TREE OF LIFE) and Wally Pfister (THE DARK KNIGHT).

The Franklin J. Schaffner Alumni Medal recognizes the extraordinary creative talents of a graduate of the AFI Conservatory or the AFI Conservatory Directing Workshop for Women who symbolizes the legacy of Franklin J. Schaffner. The distinguished recipients of the Schaffner Alumni Medal are: David Lynch (1991), Edward Zwick (1992), Randa Haines (1993), Martin Brest (1994), Jon Avnet (1995), Carl Franklin (1996), John McTiernan (1997), Amy Heckerling (1998), Mimi Leder (1999), Terrence Malick (2000), Darren Aronofsky (2001), Todd Field (2002), John Dahl (2003), Patty Jenkins (2004), Paul Schrader (2005), Marshall Herskovitz (2006), Gary Winick (2007), Mark Waters (2008), Steve Golin (2009), Janusz Kamiński (2010), Steven Rosenblum (2011), Wally Pfister (2012), Stuart Cornfeld (2013), Anne Garefino (2014), Caleb Deschanel (2015) and Lesli Linka Glatter (2016).

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.