Bookmark (0)

No account yet? Register

Lady Bird by Greta Gerwig
Lady Bird

Lady Bird” scored with the Indiana Film Journalists Association (IFJA) awards, taking the top prize of best picture as well as best director and best original screenplay for Greta Gerwig, best Actress for Saoirse Ronan and Best Supporting Actress for Laurie Metcalf.

Its five wins are the most for any film in IFJA awards history.

Faces Places” won the best foreign language film prize; and “Let It Fall: Los Angeles 1982-1992” won best documentary film.

The Original Vision Award, which goes to a film that is especially original or innovative, went to “Loving Vincent.” The Breakout of the Year went to Timothée Chalamet for his work in “Call Me by Your Name” and “Lady Bird.”

The Hoosier Award, which recognizes a significant cinematic contribution by a person or persons with roots in Indiana, or a film that depicts Hoosier State locales and stories, went to “Columbus,” the debut feature film of director Kogonada, which was set and shot in the southern Indiana city noted for its Modernist architecture.

IFJA members issued this statement for the Hoosier Award: “Writer and director Kogonada made the architectural haven of Columbus, Indiana, an integral part of his debut film. As a meditation on time, responsibility and the influence of art on everyday life, ‘Columbus’ shows the introspective side of Hoosiers that is often left out in stereotypical portrayals.”

2017 Indiana Film Journalists Association Awards

Best Film

Winner: “Lady Bird
Runner-up: “The Shape of Water

Other Finalists (listed alphabetically):

Blade Runner 2049
Brigsby Bear
The Florida Project
Get Out
The Post
Star Wars: The Last Jedi
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Animated Feature

Winner: “Coco
Runner-Up: “Loving Vincent

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: “Faces Places
Runner-Up: “BPM (Beats Per Minute)

Best Documentary

Winner: “Let It Fall: Los Angeles 1982-1992
Runner-Up: “Liyana

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird
Runner-up: Jordan Peele, “Get Out

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Scott Frank, James Mangold and Michael Green, “Logan
Runner-up: Hampton Fancher and Michael Green, “Blade Runner 2049

Best Director

Winner: Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird
Runner-up: Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water

Best Actress

Winner: Saoirse Ronan, “Lady Bird
Runner-up: Sally Hawkins, “Maudie

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird
Runner-up: Allison Janney, “I, Tonya

Best Actor

Winner: Harry Dean Stanton, “Lucky
Runner-up: Gary Oldman, “Darkest Hour

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Willem Dafoe, “The Florida Project
Runner-up: Doug Jones, “The Shape of Water

Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance

Winner: Andy Serkis, “War for the Planet of the Apes
Runner-up: Sean Gunn & Bradley Cooper, “Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2

Best Ensemble Acting

Winner: “The Florida Project
Runner-up: “The Post

Best Musical Score

Winner: Alexandre Desplat, “The Shape of Water
Runner-up: Hans Zimmer and Benjamin Wallfisch, “Blade Runner 2049

Breakout of the Year

Winner: Timothée Chalamet, “Call Me by Your Name” and “Lady Bird
Runner-up: Kogonada, “Columbus

Original Vision Award

Winner: “Loving Vincent
Runner-up: “Brigsby Bear

The Hoosier Award

Winner: “Columbus
(As a special award, no runner-up is declared in this category.)

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.