Bookmark (0)

No account yet? Register

Toyon Kyyl (The Lord Eagle)
Toyon Kyyl (The Lord Eagle)

At the 19th Annual imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival’s Awards Presentation, the esteemed Sun Jury and Moon Jury selected the winners, awarding the top prizes – Best Dramatic Feature to Toyon Kyyl (The Lord Eagle) by Eduard Novikov,  and Best Indigenous Language Production to Wiñaypacha (Eternity) by Oscar Catacora.  The Alanis Obomsawin Award for Best Documentary Work Long Format went to Marks of Mana by Lisa Taouma.

Throughout the Festival, imagineNATIVE also presented awards at the Industry Award Reception and the Bullseye Music Contest.

2018 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Award Winners

Best Dramatic Feature
Toyon Kyyl (The Lord Eagle) by Eduard Novikov
$2000 cash award sponsored by Bellmedia

Best Indigenous Language Production
Wiñaypacha (Eternity) by Oscar Catacora
$1000 cash award sponsored by Indigenous Media Initiatives

The Kent Monkman Award for Best Experimental Work
Eatnanvuloš Lottit (Birds in the Earth) by Marja Helander
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

Best Audio Work
Trans Mountain Pipeline, B.C. Wolf Cull and Dog Sled Massacre by Crystal Favel
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

Best Digital Media Work
Aeasi by Amie Batalibasi
$500 cash award sponsored by Unifor

Best Interactive Work
Biidaaban: First Dawn by Lisa Jackson
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

The Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent
ANORI (Wind) by Pipaluk Kreutzmann Jorgensen
$2000 cash award sponsored by The CJ Foundation

The Ellen Monaque Award for Best Youth Work
A World of Our Own by Morningstar Derosier
$500 cash award sponsored by RBC & Humber College Aboriginal Resource Centre

The Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Best Short Work
Biidaaban (The Dawn Comes) by Amanda Strong
$1000 cash award sponsored by VTape

Best Documentary Work Short Format
FAST HORSE by Alexandra Lazarowich
$1000 cash award sponsored by TVO

The Alanis Obomsawin Award for Best Documentary Work Long Format
Marks of Mana by Lisa Taouma
$2000 cash award sponsored by CBC Docs

The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence
Michael Greyeyes
$1500 cash award sponsored in part by ACTRA National, and generous individual donations.

Sun Jury Prize
Sgaawaay K’uuna (Edge of the Knife)
by Gwaai Edenshaw and Helen Haig-Brown

Moon Jury Prize
My Friend Michael Jones by Ian Leaupepe, Samson Rambo

APTN/imagineNATIVE Web Series Pitch
Ryan Cooper and Adeline Bird
$30,000 in cash and $20,000 of in-kind prizing and mentorship presented by APTN and supported by Technicolor, Innovate by Day, William F White International, TIFF, WIFT-T, T.O. Webfest and new supporters Bedtracks and Bizable Media

NFB/imagineNATIVE Digital and Interactive Prize
Gail Maurice

The Rising Director Mentorship Award
Alexandra Lazarowich
Created in partnership with Laura J. Milliken of Big Soul Productions and with the support of the CMPA

The Rising Producer Mentorship Award
Darcy Waite
Created with the support of the DGC

Bullseye Music Prize
$10,000 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE and Slaight Music

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.