Bookmark (0)

No account yet? Register

Clean up
Clean up

11 films competed for nine awards in the Competition section as well as six film in the “New Chinese Cinema” for the Best New Chinese-language Film of the Year at the 3rd International Film Festival & Awards Macao (“IFFAM” or the “Film Festival”).  The Film Festival screened 54 spectacular films this year and winners were revealed at the Awards Ceremony on Friday night.

The Competition section once again spotlighted first and second-time feature film directors this year, pitting 11 films against each other for nine accolades attributed by the jury and the Macao Audience Choice Award, of which the winner was voted by local audiences. The 11 films include “School’s Out”, “The Guilty”, “Clean up”, “The Good Girls”, “Ága”, “Scarborough”, “Suburban Birds”, “White Blood”, “All Good”, “Jesus” and “The Man Who Feels No Pain” with Best Film awarded to “Clean up.” 

The new competition section “New Chinese Cinema” pitted six films against each other including “Dear Ex”, “Baby”, “Xiao Mei”, “Up the Mountain”, “Fly by Night” and “The Pluto Moment”. “Up the Mountain” took home the Best New Chinese-language Film of the Year. 

Besides the above awards, an array of other accolades was presented at the Awards Ceremony to commend outstanding films and filmmakers for their achievements. Internationally-acclaimed film director and Jury President of the 3rd IFFAM, Chen Kaige, directed his first film “Yellow Earth” in 1984, which garnered a number of awards and ushered in the new era for Chinese cinema. Recognized as one of the Chinese film classics, his acclaimed masterpiece “Farewell My Concubine” (1993) won the Palme d’Or at the 46th Cannes Film Festival in the same year, making Chen the only Chinese director who has received this top accolade to this day. At the Awards Ceremony, Secretary for Social Affairs and Culture of the Macao SAR Government, Alexis Tam, presented the “Spirit of Cinema” Achievement Award to film director Chen Kaige.

In addition, the NETPAC Award went to “Suburban Birds” (presented by Mimi Plauché, Sunny Joseph and Marco Martins, jury members from the Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC)). The Asian Blockbuster Film 2018 went to the film “Crazy Rich Asians”, whereas the Variety Asian Star: Up Next Award went to five actors and actresses as follows: Anne Curtis, Iqbaal Ramadhan, Zaira Wasim, Xana Tang and Ryan Zheng Kai.

3rd International Film Festival & Awards Winners

Best Film: “Clean up” 
Jury Prize: “White Blood”
Best Director: Gustav Möller, “The Guilty
Best Actor Award: Jakob Cedergren, “The Guilty”
Best Actress Award: Aenne Schwarz, “All Good”
Award for Best Technical Contribution: Kaloyan Bozhilov, cinematographer of “Ága”
Award for Best Screenplay: Barnaby Southcombe, screenwriter of “Scarborough”
Award for Best New Young Actor: Abhimanyu Dassani, “The Man Who Feels No Pain”
Special Mention: “Jesus”
Macao Audience Choice Award: “The Good Girls”

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.