The winners of the 44th Annual HUMANITAS Prize were announced on Friday with prizes going to ON THE BASIS OF SEX for Drama Feature Film, LOVE, SIMON for Comedy Feature Film, STOLEN DAUGHTERS: KIDNAPPED BY BOKO HARAM for Documentary, and BRIAN BANKS for Independent Feature Film.

HUMANITAS describes its mission as ‘to encourage, stimulate and sustain the nation’s screenwriters in their humanizing task, and to give them the recognition they deserve.’ Prize winners donated their $10,000 cash prize to non-profit organizations dedicated to affecting positive change both at home and on the world stage.

HUMANITAS Prize Winners

Drama Feature Film: ON THE BASIS OF SEX Written by Daniel Stiepleman

Comedy Feature Film: LOVE, SIMON Screenplay by Elizabeth Berger & Isaac Aptaker, Based on the Novel Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Family Feature Film: MARY POPPINS RETURNS Screenplay by David Magee, Screen Story by David Magee & Rob Marshall & John DeLuca, Based upon the Mary Poppins stories by P.L. Travers

Documentary: STOLEN DAUGHTERS: KIDNAPPED BY BOKO HARAM Written and Produced by Karen Edwards, Directed by Gemma Atwal

Independent Feature Film: BRIAN BANKS Written by Doug Atchison

30-minute Comedy (tie): THE MARVELOUS MRS. MAISEL, “Mid-way to Mid-town” Written and Directed by Amy Sherman-Palladino and DEAR WHITE PEOPLE, “Volume 2: Chapter VIII” Written by Jack Moore

60-minute Drama: GOD FRIENDED ME, “Pilot” Written by Steven Lilien & Bryan Wynbrandt

Children’s Teleplay: ALEXA & KATIE, “Winter Formal: Part 2” Written by Matthew Carlson

Prizes Donated to Philanthropic Partners
A total of $80,000 was awarded to HUMANITAS Prize winners: $10,000 per category. Each winner designated a non-profit to receive their prize money. Our 2019 recipients:

  • The Children’s Hospital Los Angeles – Matthew Carlson
  • A Place Called Home, The California Innocence Project – Doug Atchison
  • Story Pirates – Steven Lilien and Bryan Wynbrandt
  • eQuinoxe Europe – David Magee
  • The Trevor Project – Isaac Aptaker and Elizabeth Berger
  • Ghetto Film School – Daniel Stiepleman
  • Alliance of Women Directors – Gemma Atwal
  • Arrupe Neighborhood Partnership – Jack Moore
  • Planned Parenthood – Amy Sherman-Palladino

College Fellowship Winners
The Carol Mendelsohn College Drama Fellowship and the David and Lynn Angell College Comedy Fellowship each include a $20,000 award. They are open to undergraduate and graduate students from almost 50 participating universities.

  • The David and Lynn Angell College Comedy Fellowship: FERNANDO – Adam Lujan (NYU)
  • The Carol Mendelsohn College Drama Fellowship: RUE PIGALLE – Jessica Shields (Columbia University)

Winners of the NEW VOICES program for emerging writers receive a $15,000 grant and write a pilot script under the supervision of one or more seasoned showrunners. This year’s mentors included Chris Harris, Jay Kogen, Melanie Marnich, and Nancy Pimental. This year’s recipients were:

  • Augusto Amador
  • Sydney Mitchel
  • James Pratt
  • Joel Sinensky

PLAY LA Winners
PLAY LA nurtures playwrights with unique voices and helps support the Los Angeles theatre community. Each year, the playwrights develop a new play from the ground up. In addition to receiving a $1,500 grant, writers are mentored by award-winning film, theatre, and TV professionals. This year’s PLAY LA recipients were:

  • Jami Brandli
  • Leviticus Jelks III
  • Mariana Carreño King
  • Ashley Rose Wellman
  • Gina Young
Share this article ...