Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

FREEZE starring Nora Zehetner and Adrian Grenier
FREEZE starring Nora Zehetner and Adrian Grenier

418 short films, including 128 international short films from 36 countries, have been selected to screen at the upcoming 16th edition of the Oscar®-qualifying HollyShorts Film Festival.

388 shorts will compete for top prizes at HollyShorts, one of the world’s top short film festivals. This year’s festival will take place primarily virtually via the festival’s proprietary streaming platform Bitpix from November 9-15, 2020.

This year’s festival garnered 6,000 submissions from 110 countries. The United Kingdom has set a festival record with 30 short films selected. 40% of the total HollyShorts selections are directed by women.

For the first time ever, HollyShorts will also host a short film market on Bitpix featuring 30 out of competition selected shorts. The HollyShorts Market Week is targeted towards the leading buyers in short form content and takes place November 16-20, the week after the competition screenings.

Highlights from this year’s Official Selections include: Oscar-nominated director Skye Fitzgerald’s new short documentary about the war in Yemen HUNGER WARD; Sophie Kargman’s QUERY starring Justice Smith, Graham Patrick Martin, Armie Hammer, Olivia Sui; Elvira Lind’s THE LETTER ROOM starring Oscar Isaac and Alia Shawkat; Jonathan Glazer’s THE FALL; Michael Schilf’s THE FIXER starring Jesse C. Boyd, Veronica Diaz Carranza, and Danny Trejo; Heather Edwards’ SKY WEST & CROOKED starring Emma Fuhrmann, Martha MacIsaac, Vivienne Rutherford, Ethan Jones, and Matt Jones; Katherine Fisher’s PROOF OF LOSS starring Colette McDermott, Dylan McDermott, Carolyn Michelle Smith; 2019 Oscar nominee Siqi Song’s THE COIN; FLOURISH directed by Heather Acs, Colin Levy’s SKYWATCH starring Uriah Shelton, Zach Callison, and Jude Law; Ryan C. Jaeger’s PLEASANT CANYON,Jessica Sherif’s IN HOLLYWOODLAND starring Yetide Badaki, Karen David, and Luke Youngblood; Ashley Williams’ MEATS; Dennis Williams II’s CLOUT starring Denzel Whitaker; Lucifer stars Lesley-Ann Brandt and Kevin Alejandro’s short ADULT NIGHT; Poppy Gordon’s FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION starring Samantha Robinson, Juliette Goglia and Ava Capri; Jose Acevedo’s EAGLE starring Daniel Taveras, Antonio Ortiz, and Roy Wood Jr.; Phoebe Tonkin’s FURLOUGH; Paolo Monico’s LACRIMOSA starring David Dastmalchian and LaRecia Hines; Mark Rosenblatt’s GANEF starring Sophie McShera, Lydia Wilson and Danny Scheinmann; Michael Govier and Will McCormack’s IF ANYTHING HAPPENS I LOVE YOU Executive Produced by Laura Dern. As well as three of this year’s Student Academy-Award narrative category winners: Karishma Dube’s BITTU, Rommel Villa Barriga’s SWEET POTATOES, and Talia Smith’s UMAMA.

The festival will also feature the animated short CRUEL SHOES written and narrated by Academy Honorary Award winner Steve Martin; I WISH FOR YOU featuring Jeremy Irons; the Will Ferrell, William Jackson Harper, and Fred Hechinger comedy DAVID directed by Avenue 5’s Zach Woods; Deon Taylor’s 8:46 starring Tyrese Gibson and featuring CeeLo Green; Maya Albanese’s FREEZE starring Nora Zehetner and Adrian Grenier; THE PRICE OF CHEAP RENT featuring Wyatt Cenac from directors Amina Sutton and Maya Tanaka; Eli Synder’s INTERLUDE starring Empire’s Skylan Brooks; the high school drama AT LAST directed by Lorena Gordon and featuring George Lopez; as well as Hanna star Esmé Creed-Miles’ directorial debut JAMIE.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.