Bookmark (0)

No account yet? Register

Emerald Fennell’s Promising Young Woman
Emerald Fennell’s Promising Young Woman

The Music City Film Critics’ Association comprised of more than 30 professional film critics working in or near Nashville, Tennessee announced the winners of the MCFCA 2020 Film Awards. Promising Young Woman was the big winner taking two of the top four awards, including Best Picture.

Each year the MCFCA gives out The Jim Ridley Award. It is a special award named after one of Nashville’s most beloved film critics, who died at age 50 in 2016. It is given to the film or the person that best represents Nashville and Tennessee. This year’s recipient is composer William Tyler who wrote the score for First Cow, one of the MCFCA’s Best Picture nominees.

Clint Redwine, president of the MCFCA added, “We are thrilled for all of our winners. In a year where we thought we may not see anything released after April, we ended up with a fantastic slate of award-winning films.”

2020 Music City Film Critics’ Association Award Winners

Best Picture: ​Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell – Director
Tom Ackerley, Ben Browning, Emerald Fennell, Ashley Fox, Josey McNamara, Margot Robbie – Producers

Best Director: ​​​Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Best Actor: ​​​Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best Actress: ​​​Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Actor: ​Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Supporting Actress: ​Tie
Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari

Best Acting Ensemble: ​Tie
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
One Night In Miami

Best Animated Feature: ​Soul – Pete Doctor and Kemp Powers – Directors
Dana Murray, Jonas Rivera, Jessie Thiele Schroeder – Producers

Best Foreign Language Film:​ Another Round – Thomas Vinterberg – Director
Jessica Balac, Karen Bentzon, Kasper Dissing, Sisse Graum Jørgensen, Kristina Kornum – Producers

Best Documentary: ​​The Social Dilemma – Jeff Orlowski – DirectorLarissa Rhodes, Shawna Schultz – Producers

Best Screenplay: ​​Aaron Sorkin – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Song: ​​​“Speak Now” – Sam Ashworth, Leslie Odom, Jr.One Night In Miami

Best Score: ​​​Ludwig Göransson – Tenet

Best Cinematography: ​​Joshua James Richard – Nomadland

Best Editing: ​​​Tie​
Andy Canny – The Invisible Man
Alan Baumgarten – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Production Design:​ Donald Graham Burt – Mank

The Jim Ridley Award: ​William Tyler – Composer – First Cow

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.