Mucho Mucho Amor
Mucho Mucho Amor

“Nomadland” won the most awards at the third annual Latino Entertainment Film Awards presented by the Latino Entertainment Journalists Association (LEJA) , with four including best picture, director, cinematography and editing. Chloé Zhao won three individual awards for producing, directing and editing the film.

Jayro Bustamante’s “La Llorona” from Guatemala won best international feature while Cristina Costantini and Kareem Tabsch’s “Mucho Mucho Amor: The Legend of Walter Mercado” nabbed best documentary feature.

A24’s “Minari” and Amazon Studios’ “One Night in Miami” both took home two awards. Lee Isaac Chung’s moving drama won best supporting actress for Yuh-Jung Youn and best original screenplay while Regina King’s historical project landed best adapted screenplay and song for the number “Speak Now,” written by Leslie Odom Jr and Sam Ashworth.

Daniel Kaluuya took home best supporting actor for his performance in Warner Bros’ “Judas and the Black Messiah” from co-writer, director and producer Shaka King.

Academy Award nominee Rosie Perez was the recipient of the 2021 Rita Moreno Lifetime Achievement Award and the 2021 Latino Activism Award, the first person to receive both prizes in the same year.

Afro-Latina breakout star Ariana DeBose was also honored with the 2021 Latino Activism Award after starring in Disney Plus’ “Hamilton” and Netflix’s “The Prom.”

Winners of 3rd Latino Entertainment Film Awards presented by Latino Entertainment Journalists Association

Best Picture

“Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, Chloe Zhao

Best Director

Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures)

Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix)

Best Actress

Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)

Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah” (Warner Bros)

Best Supporting Actress

Yuh-Jung Youn, “Minari” (A24)

Best Voice or Motion Capture Performance

Alice Braga, “Soul” (Pixar)

Best Animated Feature

“Soul” (Pixar) – Pete Docter, Kemp Powers

Best International Feature

“La Llorona” from Guatemala (Shudder) – Jayro Bustamante

Best Documentary Feature

“Mucho Mucho Amor: The Legend of Walter Mercado” (Netflix) – Cristina Costantini Kareem Tabsch

Best Original Screenplay

“Minari” (A24) – Lee Isaac Chung

Best Adapted Screenplay

“One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios) – Kemp Powers

Best Ensemble Casting

“Hamilton” (Disney Plus) – Bethany Knox, Bernard Telsey

Best Production & Set Design

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix) – Mark Ricker (production designer), Karen O’Hara (set designer)

Best Cinematography

“Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – Joshua James Richards

Best Costume Design

“Emma.” (Focus Features) – Alexandra Byrne

Best Editing

“Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – Chloé Zhao

Best Hair and Makeup

“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix) – Mia Neal, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Jamika Wilson

Best Sound

“Sound of Metal” (Amazon Studios) – Phillip Bladh, Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés, Carolina Santana

Best Visual Effects

“The Invisible Man” (Universal Pictures) – Marcus Bolton, Aevar Bjarnason, Jonathan Dearing, Matt Ebb

Best Stunt Design

“Tenet” (Warner Bros)

Best Musical Score

“Soul” (Pixar) – Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Best Song

“Speak Now” from “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios) – Leslie Odom Jr, Sam Ashworth

Rita Moreno Lifetime Achievement Award & Latino Activism Award
Rosie Perez

Latino Breakout Award
Ariana DeBose, star of “Hamilton” and “The Prom”

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.