Austin Film Festival

Austin Film Festival and Writers Conference (AFF), will return to an in-person Festival and Conference for its 28th year. The eight-day Festival will take place from October 21 – 28 in Austin, Texas.

The Festival also announced Scott Frank as the recipient of the 2021 Bill Wittliff Award for Screenwriting. Past AFF honorees include Tony Gilroy, Lawrence Kasdan, Callie Khouri, and Nancy Meyers. Frank is an Oscar- and Emmy nominated writer and director whose screenplay credits include Little Man Tate, Dead Again, Malice, Heaven’s Prisoners, Get Shorty, Out of Sight, Minority Report, The Interpreter, The Lookout (writer/director), Marley & Me, The Wolverine, Walk Among the Tombstones (writer/director), Logan, the Netflix limited series, Godless (writer/director) and The Queen’s Gambit (writer/director).

His most recent project, The Queen’s Gambit, is Netflix’s most watched scripted miniseries and won a Golden Globe for Best Television Limited Series. The series was also named one of the AFI’s Top Ten Shows for 2020.

Frank will be recognized at the 2021 Awards Luncheon on Saturday, October 23 at the Austin Club, and will participate in festival and conference programming. The Festival also announced conference guests Peter Craig (The Batman), Javier Grillo-Marxuach (Lost), Meg LeFauve (Inside Out), Nicole Perlman (Guardians of the Galaxy), with more panelist announcements to come.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.