No account yet? Register

Queen of the Morning Calm directed by Gloria Ui Young Kim
Queen of the Morning Calm directed by Gloria Ui Young Kim

The BronzeLens Film Festival set to run from August 17-22 in Atlanta, Georgia unveiled its 2021 nominated film selections. Winners will be announced during the annual BronzeLens Awards Show on Sunday, August 22.

Categories include the best in Features, Documentaries, Shorts, Short Documentaries, REEL South Short Documentaries, Web Series, Students, and Music/Dance Videos.

Now in its 12th year, BronzeLens which celebrates content from people of color from around the world, will run as a virtual experience due to the ongoing COVID-19 global health crisis.

BronzeLens 2021 Nominated Film Selections

Best Feature

Queen of the Morning Calm – Director: Gloria Ui Young Kim
Roads to Olympia – Director: Ramazan Nanayev
Get Out Alive – Director: Roger Ellis

Best Documentary

100 Years From Mississippi (to be featured at Cinema and Social Justice Sunday) – Director: Tarabu Betserai Kirkland
2020 The Year of the Nurse – Director: Robyn Jones
Route 4 – Director: Martina Chamrad

Best Short

Any Day – Director: Jose Perdomo III
Vest – Director: Samir Mallal
Joyriders – Director: Raymond Carr
Do.Solo.Pin – Director: Javad Atefeh
Al-Sit – Director: Suzannah Mirghani
Washing Machine – Director: Anand Singh Chouhan

Best Short Documentary

Out of the Dark: Hannah – Director: Sarah Klein, Tom Mason; Producer
Continuing a Legacy – Director: Elizabeth Bayne
The Door of Return – Director: Anna Zhukovets, Kokutekeleza Musebeni
Who Fights for You – Director: Maddie Stambler
Vanishing Chinatown: The World of The May’s Photo Studio – Director: Emiko Omori

Best REEL South Short Documentary

Wonderfully Made – Director: Benita Ozoude
Tati the Great – Director: Kelly Gray Bobino

Best Web Series

The Bottom – Director: Supadope
Hunter 1 & 2 – Director: Kelvin Owens

Best Student Film

My Own Mecca – Director: Alba Roland Mejia; Producer
I AM – Director: Jerry Hoffmann
Wildflowers – The Children of Never – Director: Ammen Simpson Ogedengbe
Cracked – Director: Lin Que Ayoung
Mass Ave – Director: Omar S. Kamara

Best Music/Dance Video

Count It All – Director: Josh Cleveland
Brand New Day – Director: Justin J. Jordan
Stories I Create in My Head – Director: Derek Evans
Lux Ex Tenebus – Director: Timon Birkhofer, Jørg M. Kundinger
META – Director: Danielle Swatzie, Kamryn Harris

Best Actor

Gerardo “El Cuervo” Mercedes – Any Day
Marsalis Burton- My Own Mecca
Antonio Carlos – Roads to Olympia

Best Actress

Melodie Wakivuamina – I AM
Tina Jung Queen of the Morning Calm
Nikki Lynette Get Out Alive

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.