Ari Wegner
Ari Wegner (Credit: Ben King)

Cinematographer Ari Wegner will be honored with the TIFF Variety Artisan Award at this year’s 2021 TIFF Tribute Awards at the 46th edition of the Toronto International Film Festival. The award recognizes a distinguished creative who has excelled at their craft and made an outstanding contribution to cinema and entertainment.

Academy Award–winning cinematographer Roger Deakins and Academy Award–nominated and six-time Grammy Award–winning composer Terence Blanchard are previous recipients of the award.

Wegner’s career began to take off with Night Shift by Zia Mandviwalla, which went to Cannes in 2012. She has worked both on television and film projects, including The Girlfriend Experience, True History of the Kelly Gang, In Fabric, Stray, Ruin, and Lady Macbeth. She recently worked on Janicza Bravo’s Zola, which was released by A24 this summer. Her work will next be seen in Netflix’s The Power of the Dog, directed by Jane Campion and starring Benedict Cumberbatch (a fellow TIFF Tribute honouree) and Kirsten Dunst, which will screen at TIFF.

“We are absolutely thrilled to honour Ari Wegner with this year’s TIFF Variety Artisan Award and to showcase her illustrious career in film and television,” said Joana Vicente, Co-Head of TIFF. “Ari brings such a transformative and unique style to all of her projects, including her stunning cinematography in The Power of the Dog. We can’t wait for our audiences to see the Special Presentation of this powerful film during the Festival.”

“Ari approaches every project she works on with such a thoughtful and creative gaze,” said Steven Gaydos, Executive Vice President, Content Executive Editor, Variety. “Her work is inspiring and groundbreaking, and we are looking forward to being able to honor her incredible work and contributions at this year’s awards.”

The 2021 TIFF Tribute honorees include the recently announced music legend Dionne Warwick as the recipient of the Special Tribute Award; Saskatchewan-born Cree/Métis filmmaker Danis Goulet as the recipient of the TIFF Emerging Talent Award; two-time Academy Award nominee Jessica Chastain, who will receive the TIFF Tribute Actor Award, and Academy Award–nominated Benedict Cumberbatch, who will receive the TIFF Tribute Actor Award; Academy Award–nominated French Canadian filmmaker Denis Villeneuve, who will receive the TIFF Ebert Director Award; and award-winning documentary filmmaker, writer, singer, and activist Alanis Obomsawin, who will be honored with the Jeff Skoll Award in Impact Media.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.