Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

Kung Fu Zohra by Mabrouk El Mechri
Kung Fu Zohra by Mabrouk El Mechri

International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) return to cinemas from October 14 to 16 2022 for the 51st edition, with a program lineup of 35 films, previously only made available to press and industry online earlier this year. Filmmakers and special guests will be in attendance to introduce their work and take part in Q&A sessions at the event.

Festival director Vanja Kaludjercic: “We’re extending a warm welcome to our 2022 edition competition filmmakers to join us in Rotterdam, where they’ll introduce their remarkable work to audiences and press alike. Reuniting with attending filmmakers, including names like Mabrouk El Mechri, Morgane Dziurla-Petit and Yamasaki Juichiro, will be a very special moment, and we hope you can join us for this festive weekend.”

13 titles will screen in the Tiger Competition, including EAMI by Paraguayan filmmaker Paz Encina which received the Tiger Award in February, Special Jury Award winner Excess Will Save Us by Morgane Dziurla-Petit, alongside a number of others including Indian director of The Cloud Messenger, Rahat Mahajan, and Australian director of The Plains, David Easteal.

Eight titles from the IFFR 2022 selection will screen in the Big Screen Competition offering a wide-ranging selection, bridging the gap between popular, classic and arthouse cinema. An audience jury granted the VPRO Big Screen Award to Kung Fu Zohra by Mabrouk El Mechri, who will be present in Rotterdam. Romanian director Anca Damian of The Island, and Polish-Dutch director Urszula Antoniak of Splendid Isolation, are also amongst the attending filmmakers from the Big Screen Competition selection.

14 short films will screen from the 2022 Ammodo Tiger Short Competition. Taiwanese artist Hsu Che-yu will present The Making of Crime Scenes, with other attending filmmakers including the Colombian Juanita Onzaga of Tomorrow Is a Water Palace and the Portuguese Leonor Noivo of Dawn.

IFFR 2022: Return of the Tiger lineup in full

Tiger Competition

Achrome, Maria Ignatenko, 2022, Russia/Germany/Israel

The Cloud Messenger, Rahat Mahajan, 2022, India

A criança, Marguerite de Hillerin/Félix Dutilloy-Liégeois, 2022, Portugal

EAMI, Paz Encina, 2022, Paraguay/Germany/Argentina/Netherlands/France/United States

Excess Will Save Us, Morgane Dziurla-Petit, 2022, Sweden

Kafka for Kids, Roee Rosen, 2022, Israel

Malintzin 17, Mara Polgovsky/Eugenio Polgovsky, 2022, Mexico

Met mes, Sam de Jong, 2022, Netherlands

The Plains, David Easteal, 2022, Australia

Proyecto Fantasma, Roberto Doveris, 2022, Chile

Le rêve et la radio, Renaud Després-Larose/Ana Tapia Rousiouk, 2022, Canada

Ningdu (formerly Silver Bird and Rainbow Fish), Lei Lei, 2022, United States/Netherlands

Yamabuki, Yamasaki Juichiro, 2022, Japan/France

Big Screen Competition at IFFR 2022: Return of the Tiger

Assault, Adilkhan Yerzhanov, 2022, Kazakhstan/Russia

Broadway, Christos Massalas, 2022, Greece/France/Romania

Daryn’s Gym, Brett Michael Innes, 2021, South Africa

Drifting Petals, Clara Law, 2021, Australia

The Island, Anca Damian, 2021, Romania/France/Belgium

Kung Fu Zohra, Mabrouk El Mechri, 2021, France

Mi vacío y yo, Adrián Silvestre, 2021, Spain

Splendid Isolation, Urszula Antoniak, 2022, Netherlands

Ammodo Tiger Short Competition at IFFR 2022: Return of the Tiger

Answering the Sun, Rainer Kohlberger, 2022, Austria/Germany

Becoming Male in the Middle Ages, Pedro Neves Marques, 2022, Portugal

Chants from a Holy Book, Cesar Gananian/Cassiana Der Haroutiounian, 2021, Brazil

Dawn, Leonor Noivo, 2021, Portugal

Glass Life, Sara Cwynar, 2021, United States

Isn’t It a Beautiful World, Joseph Wilson, 2021, United Kingdom

The Making of Crime Scenes, Hsu Che-yu, 2022, France/Taiwan

El nombre de las cosas, Diego Escobar, 2022, Chile

Nosferasta: First Bite, Bayley Sweitzer/Adam Khalil, 2021, United States

Polycephaly in D, Michael Robinson, 2021, United States

Punctured Sky, Jon Rafman, 2021, United States

Songs for living, Korakrit Arunanondchai/Alex Gvojic, 2022, United States/Thailand

Tomorrow Is a Water Palace, Juanita Onzaga, 2022, Belgium/Mexico/Colombia

urban solutions, Arne Hector/Luciana Mazeto/Vinícius Lopes/Minze Tummescheit, 2022, Germany/Brazil

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.