To a Land Unknown, 41st Munich International Film Festival Award Ceremony
© Kurt Krieger / Filmfest München

The 41st Munich International Film Festival (Filmfest München) presented the awards in the five international competitions (CineCoPro, CineMasters, CineVision, CineRebels, and CineKindl), the FIPRESCI Prize, the Young Jury Award, and the three Audience Awards, with the most lucrative prize, the 100,000-euro CineCoPro Award, going to the film “To a Land Unknown” by Mahdi Fleifel.

To a Land Unknown follows Chatila and Reda, two Palestinian cousins, who have a dream: to open a café in Germany. They’ve already made it as far as Greece, but without papers, without prospects, and without money. Giving up is not an option, though. Undeterred, they stick to their goal, even if it means having to make increasingly questionable decisions.

“Our juries have truly embraced an affirmation of the diversity of global cinema. Meticulous in their artistry, socially relevant, and forward-thinking in their cinematic approach, our winning films show what cinema today can be. Our first Audience Day, which beckons audiences to theaters at reduced admission prices, offers another chance to discover all of these films here at the Munich International Film Festival,” say festival director Christoph Gröner and artistic co-director Julia Weigl.

The 2024 award-winners of Munich International Film Festival (Filmfest München)

CineCoPro Award
“To a Land Unknown” by Mahdi Fleifel and with it the film’s German co-producer, François Morisset of Salaud Morisset, was honored with the CineCoPro Award.

Honorable mention was given to “The Village Next to Paradise” by Mo Harawe and thus to the film’s German co-producer, Nicole Gerhards of NiKo Film.

CineMasters Award
The film “Explanation for Everything” by Gábor Reisz earned the CineMasters Award for best international film, which was presented to producer Júlia Berkes of Proton Cinema LLC.

CineVision Award
The CineVision Award for the best international film by an emerging director went to “Simón de la Montaña” by Federico Luis.

CineRebels Award
The CineRebels Award, presented this year for the third time, went to “Viêt and Nam” by Minh Quý Trương.
Honorable mention was given to “Fragments of Ice” by Maria Stoianova.

CineKindl Award
“Lars Is LOL” by Eirik Sæter Stordahl won the CineKindl Award for best children’s film.

Young Jury Award
The Young Jury Award, presented this year for the first time, went to “Hoard” by Luna Carmoon.
Honorable mention went to “Sisterqueens” by Clara Stella Hüneke.

Audience Awards
The Audience Awards went to “Führer and Seducer” by Joachim A. Lang in the national category and “Samia” by Yasemin Şamdereli, in collaboration with Deka Mohamed Osman in the international category.
The CineKindl Audience Award went to “Dìdi” by Sean Wang.

Since 2015, the International Film Critics Association (FIPRESCI) has presented an award in the New German Cinema section at the Munich International Film Festival.
This year it went to “Sad Jokes” by Fabian Stumm.

German Cinema New Talent Award
On Friday, July 5, 2024, up-and-coming German talent was also honored with the coveted German Cinema New Talent Award. The jury honored Fabian Stumm as best director for his film “Sad Jokes”. Semih Korhan Güner clinched the award for best production for the drama “Smell of Burnt Milk”. Aaron Arens and Lukas Loose took the award for best screenplay and a slot in the Bavaria Fiction mentoring program for “Places in the Sun”. Atika Jumaih Bashiru received the award for best acting performance for her role in the film “O Chale”.

Bernd Burgemeister TV Production Awards
Previously, on Sunday, June 30, 2024, the two prestigious Bernd Burgemeister TV Production Awards for outstanding achievement in production were presented to producers Maren Knieling and Lars Jessen (Florida Film GmbH) for the comedy “Micha Thinks Big” starring Charly Hübner as best TV movie. The award for best series or miniseries went to producers Katrin Haase, Oliver Arnold (U5 Filmproduktion GmbH & Co. KG), and Lasse Scharpen (Studio Zentral) for the vampire-themed series “Love Sucks”.

Fritz Gerlich Prize
This year’s Fritz Gerlich Prize was awarded by Tellux Next to “Tatami” by Zar Amir and Guy Nattiv.

One Future Prize
This year’s One Future Prize, awarded by the Interfilm Academy, went to the documentary “Petra Kelly – Act Now!” by Doris Metz. The 2024 One Future Honorary Award was presented posthumously to Petra Kelly for her life’s work and her tireless engagement with sociopolitical issues.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.