Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

No account yet? Register

Daydream Nation, dir: Michael Goldbach

The Whistler Film Festival announced the films competing for $25,000 in cash prizes as part of the Borsos Competition for Best Canadian Feature Film and the inaugural New Voices International Feature Film Competition.

Named after the legendary Canadian filmmaker Phillip Borsos, the $15,000 Borsos Competition for Best Canadian Feature Film recognizes creativity and passion in independent filmmakers and is presented by the Director’s Guild of Canada – British Columbia. Films for the seventh annual Borsos Competition include:

• Good Neighbours dir: Jacob Tierney, (QC, Western Canadian Premiere)
• Small Town Murder Songs, dir: Ed Gass-Donnelly, (ON, British Columbia Premiere)
• Whistleblower, dir: Larysa Kondracki (ON, Western Canadian Premiere)
• Hard Core Logo 2, dir: Bruce McDonald, (BC/SK, World Premiere)
• Wrecked, dir: Michael Greenspan, (BC, North American Premiere)
• Jo Pour Jonathan, dir: Maxime Giroux (QC, English Canadian Premiere)

“The films for this year’s Borsos Competition once again demonstrate the excellence and wide range of Canada’s independent filmmaking scene,” says Stacey Donen, Whistler Film Festival’s Artistic Director. “WFF has long been a supporter of Canadian filmmakers and we’re thrilled to showcase some of Canada’s best to the world.”

New for 2010, Whistler’s New Voices International Feature Competition will showcase six innovative and unique narrative films from around the globe by directors with their first or second feature. This $10,000 CDN award recognizes the imaginative perspective and cinematic integrity found in these fresh new voices.

Films include:
• Daydream Nation, dir: Michael Goldbach (Canada, British Columbia Premiere)
• Attenberg, dir: Athina Rachel Tsangari (Greece, Western Canada Premiere)
• The Silence, dir: Baran bo Odar (Germany, North American Premiere)
• Nothing’s All Bad, dir: Mikkel Munch-Fals (Denmark, Canadian Premiere)
• Blue Valentine, dir: Derek Cianfrance (USA, Western Canadian Premiere)
• You Are Here, dir: Daniel Cockburn (Canada, Western Canadian Premiere)

All films competing in the Borsos Competition and New Voices Competition must be British Columbia premieres. The winners will be determined by two esteemed international juries of three to be announced next week. Awards will be announced at the Whistler Film Festival awards ceremony on Sunday, December 5th in Whistler, B.C..

Source: WFF

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.