Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

The 17th San Luis Obispo International Film Festival (SLOIFF) which ran March 9 – 13, 2011 announced that it had another outstanding year, surpassing income and attendance goals.

Festival Director, Wendy Eidson, is delighted with the growth in ticket and pass sales, which topped last years sales by over 40%. “Early numbers are indicating that we have well surpassed our festival income goals, as well as having increased the number of attendees, both local and from out of town.” Eidson said.

This year the Festival went to a five-day format, plus two new venues made it possible to screen just as many films as the previous ten-day festival, numbering over 100 films.

Oscar-nominated actor, Greg Kinnear received the 2011 King Vidor Award for Excellence in Filmmaking and many independent filmmakers were also honored with awards in a variety of categories.

Award-winning filmmakers 2011

George Sidney Independent Film Competition

Best Documentary Feature – City LAX: An Urban Lacrosse Story – Director Gabriela Cowperthwaite
Best Narrative Feature – A Beginners Guide to Endings – Director Jonathan Sobol
Best Narrative Short Film – The Interview – Director Michele Steffes
Best Documentary Short Film – Bye Bye Now – Director Ross Whitaker
Best Student Film – Kavi – Director Gregg Helvey

Central Coast Filmmaker Showcase

Best Narrative Film under 30 min – The Monstrosity – Director Alyssa Price
Best Documentary Film under 30 min – Haute Couture: A Fashion Documentary – Director Robin Chilton
Best Narrative Film over 30 min – Destroying Angel – Director Tina Love
Best Documentary Film over 30 min – Camp Unity – Director Ryan White

Audience Awards

Best Narrative Feature – (tie) Thanks (Director Martin Bergman) and Language of a Broken Heart (Director Rocky Powell)
Best Documentary Feature – City LAX: An Urban Lacrosse Story (Director Gabriela Cowperthwaite)
Best Short Film – Lab Rats (Writer Louis Rosenberg)

Filmmakers of Tomorrow Showcase

High School:
Best Animated – Journey of the Text (Kevin Krebs)
Best Drama – (tie) It Happened One Afternoon (Katherine Nagasawa) and How Could She? (Kevin Rieg)
Best SLO County Film – Poetic Justice Project (Matthew Evans)
Best Comedy – (tie) The Talent Show (Olivia Chuba & Jesse Marcus) and Tale of Two Bumperheads (Ulises Ortega)

Elementary/Middle School:
Best Animated Film – Sebastian’s Adventure (Nat Motulsky)
Best Drama – (tie) Ted a Ted (Alec Winshel) and Empty (Christopher & Gabrielle Dierendfeldt)
Best Comedy – Wesley’s World (Wesley Ruby)
Best SLO County Film – Manuel the Clayman (Isaac Walter Capps)

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.