Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

No account yet? Register

TELUS Audience Choice Award – The Gruffalo

Canadian Film Centre’s Worldwide Short Film Festival aka CFC Worldwide Short Film Festival (WSFF), announced the winners of the Festival’s 2011 awards. Nine awards and over $90,000 in cash and prizes were presented to Canadian and international filmmakers.

This festival,now in its 17th year, is very important as it is one of only four Canadian festivals accredited by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences®, WSFF Canadian award winners are eligible for Genie Awards, while winners of the awards for Best Live-Action Short and Best Animated Short become eligible for the Academy Awards®.

The Bravo!FACT Award for Best Canadian Short and a cash prize of $5,000 was captured by director Martin Thibaudeau for COLD BLOOD (SANG FROID) (Canada). The jury remarked: “This deftly-scripted emotional family drama doesn’t waste a single frame and caused the jury’s hearts to beat faster, and eyes to water.”

The Deluxe Award for Best Live Action Short was awarded to Rudi Rosenberg’s AGLAÉE(France) garnering him $2,500 in cash and eligibility for next year’s Academy Awards®. The jury remarked: “This stand-out teenage drama captivated the jury with its outstanding young performances and its truthful portrayal of adolescence, in all its beauty and ugliness. A film directed with brio that is unsettling and above all else, refreshing.” An Honourable Mention goes to Samuel Tilman’s film SLEEPLESS NIGHT (NUIT BLANCHE)(Belgium).

The Deluxe Award for Best Performance in a Live-Action Short was awarded to actors Aline Kolditz and Lea Kolditz as Mieke in Daniel Karl Krause’s FATHERMOTHERCHILD (VATERMUTTERKIND) (Germany) along with a $2,500 cash prize. The jury remarked: “These young actors deliver an amazing and convincing characterization in a film that delivers a powerful punch. The role required a maturity and complex understanding of an adult environment in a sustained performance that shocks to the core.”

The Kodak Award for Best Cinematography in a Canadian Short was presented to Cinematographer Ian Lagarde for Annick Blanc’s film NOWHERE ELSEWHERE (AU MILIEU DE NULLE PART AILLEURS) (Canada) along with $2,000 in 35mm stock. The jury remarked: “The film transported us to a world where anxiety meets the naïveté of childhood thanks to a remarkable cinematography which gives a very specific tone to this cinematographic gem.”

The Panasonic Award For Best Documentary Short: went to Susan Koenen’s I AM A GIRL!, (Netherlands). The jury remarked: “The winner of Best Documentary Short is a film that tackles a teenager’s challenging transformation, using an effervescent approach to its music, cinematography and symbolism to portray a femininity and innocence that is unexpectedly accurate.” The prize package includes a Camcorder, LCD television, Blu-ray player and a digital stills camera (total package $5,000)

Best Animated Short honour and a Panasonic digital video camcorder (and Academy Award eligibility) went to Iain Gardner for THE TANNERY (UK). The jury remarked: “This lovely parable about the mysteries of the cycle of life is as beautiful as it is touching. A film that will stay with you long after viewing.”

An Honourable Mention goes to Robert Proch’s THE GALLERY (GALERIA) (Poland), a film that playfully explores gender roles and behaviour with a wry sense of humour and a jaunty fluid line. The Best Experimental Short honour along with a Panasonic digital video camcorder went to Kiitos, Hannes Vartiainen and Pekka Veikkolainen for THE DEATH OF AN INSECT (ERÄÄN HYÖNTEISEN TUHO) (Finland). The jury remarked: “This particular short engaged the jury by its use of various innovative audio and visual techniques which evoked curiosity, wonder, disgust and fascination.”

And finally, the Screenplay Giveaway Prize, a package of goods and services worth over $70,000 was awarded to David Widdicombe for his script WAKE. A runner’s up award was given to Jason Hreno for SAM AND REA’S FAULT.

The TELUS Audience Choice Award, which comes with a $5,000 cash prize was awarded to THE GRUFFALO.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.