Dabangg (Fearless)

Dabangg (Fearless) was the big winner at the 12th International India Film Academy (IIFA) awards ceremony held in Toronto, Canada on Saturday night.

The Hollywood Reported, reported that Dabangg won for best film and took home three of the four major music awards: best male playback singer for Rahat Ali Fateh Khan for the song “Tere mast mast do nain,” best music director shared by Sajid Wajid and Lalit Pandit, and the best female playback singer trophy went to Mamta Sharma for the song “Munni badnam hui.” Also for Dabangg, the best screenplay trophy went to Abhinav Kashyap and Dilip Shukla, while Sonakshi Sinha earned the female debut award for her star-turn in the hit Bollywood film.

The list of the winners of the 2011 IIFA Awards:

Best Film

Best Direction
Karan Johar (My Name Is Khan)

Leading Role Male
Shahrukh Khan (My Name Is Khan)

Leading Role Female
Anushka Sharma (Band Baaja Baaraat)

Supporting Role Male
Arjun Rampal (Raajneeti)

Supporting Role Female
Prachi Desai (Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai)

Comic Role
Riteish Deshmukh (Housefull)

Negative Role
Sonu Sood (Dabangg)

Debut Male
Ranveer Singh

Debut Female
Sonakshi Sinah (Dabangg)

Best Story
Shibani Bhatija (My Name Is Khan)

Dilip Shukla, Abhinav Kashyap (Dabangg)

Vishal Bhardwaj (Ishqiya)

Music Direction
Sajid – Wajid & Lalit Pandit (Dabangg)

Niranjan Iyengar (My Name Is Khan – Sajdaa)

Playback Singer Male
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan (Dabangg – Tere Mast Mast Do Nain)

Playback Singer Female
Mamta Sharma (Dabangg – Munni Badnam)

Outstanding Achievement in International Cinema
Irrfan Khan

Lifetime Achievement Award
Asha Bhonsle

Outstanding Contribution to Indian cinema
Dharmendra (50 years in cinema)

Outstanding Achievement in Indian cinema
Sharmila Tagore

Best On-Screen Jodi
Anuksha Sharma and Ranveer Singh (Band Baaja Baaraat)

Special ‘Green’ Award
Priyanka Chopra

Best Editing
Namrata Rao
Band Baaja Baaraat

Best Sound Recording
Pritam Das
Love Sex aur Dhokha

Best Sound Re-recording
Leslie Fernandes

Best Special Effects
V. Srinivas Mohan

Best Art Direction
Sabu Cyril

Best Cinematography
Sudeep Chatterjee

Best Dialogue
Vishal Bharadwaj

Best Costume
Niharika Khan
Band Baaja Baaraat

Best Make-up

Best Screenplay
Abhinav Kashyap, Dileep Shukla

Best Choreography
Farah Khan

Best Action
Master Vijayan

Best Story
Shibani Bhattija
My Name Is Khan

Best Background Score
Shankar Ehsaan Loy
My Name Is Khan

Best Music
Sajid – Wajid

Best Lyrics
Niranjan Iyengar
My Name Is Khan

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Mamta Sharma

Debutant Star Award (Male)
Ranveer Singh
Band Baaja Baaraat

Debutant Star Award (Female)
Sonakshi Sinha

Best Performance in a Comic Role
Ritesh Deshmukh
House Full

Best Performance in a Negative Role
Sonu Sood

Best Performance in a Supporting Role (Female)
Prachi Desai |
Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai

Best Performance in a Supporting Role (Male)
Arjun Rampal

Lifetime Achievement Award

[via india-spicy]

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.