Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

TJ Thyne stars as Lovell Milo in SHUFFLE

‘SHUFFLE,’ the tale of a man that begins to experience his life out of order, took home Best Picture at the 2012 Phoenix Film Festival’s Awards Ceremony on Sunday night, April 1st.  The film, which stars TJ Thyne, also picked up the award for best director, which went to Kurt Kuenne.  The Cox Audience Award, given to the film that received the highest grade from festival goers, went to Gary King’s ‘How Do You Write a Joe Schermann Song’ which also earned King the Dan Harkins Breakthrough Filmmaker Award.

Other notable awards given out Sunday included Best Documentary, won by ‘We Run Shit,’ and Best Ensemble to the film ‘Searching for Sonny.’  ‘Sonny’ writer, Andrew Disney, also picked up the Festival’s Best Screenwriter Award.  From the International Horror and Sci-Fi Film Festival, which featured some of the best genre specific cinema from around the world, ‘Pig’ won for best Sci-Fi feature, and ‘It’s In The Blood’ took home the award for best horror feature.  “I was blown away by the quality of films this year,” said festival director, Jason Carney.  “In our twelve year’s of existence, this is the best line-up that we’ve had. Congratulations to the filmmakers!”

A full list of winners from Sunday night’s ceremony is featured below:

International Horror and Sci-Fi Film Fest Awards

Best Sci-Fi  Short Film
Secret Identity

Best Sci-Fi Feature Film

Best Horror Short Film
Brutal Relax

Best Horror Feature Film
It’s In The Blood

Short Film Awards

Best Grade/HS Short Film

Best College Short Film
The Life Smugglers

Best Arizona Short Film

Best Documentary Short Film
Sacred Poison

Best Live Action Short Film
Play By Play

Best Animated Short Film

World Cinema Awards

World Cinema Short Film
La Media Pena

World Cinema Documentary
Wolves Unleashed

World Cinema Director
Ruggero Dipaola, Apartment in Athens

World Cinema Best Picture
Apartment in Athens

World Cinema Audience Award Winner

Foundation Awards

Arizona Filmmaker of the Year
Diane Dresback

Volunteer of the Year
Tiffany Hutson

Board Member of the Year
Lori Alderfer

Feature Film Awards

Dan Harkins Breakthrough Filmmaker Award
Gary King, How Do You Write A Joe Schermann Song

Best Documentary
We Run Sh*t

Best Ensemble
Searching for Sonny

Best Director
Kurt Kuenne, Shuffle

Best Screenwriting
Andrew Disney, Searching for Sonny

Cox Audience Award
How Do You Write A Joe Schermann Song

Best Picture

The 12th Annual Phoenix film Festival continues at Harkins Scottsdale 101 Theaters located at 7000 E. Mayo Blvd. Phoenix, AZ 85054 until Thursday night, April 5th.  The Festival will continue to feature the winners and other popular films at various screenings throughout the week.

via Phoenix film Festival

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.