Thirteen students from colleges and universities around the world were honored tonight (June 9) as winners at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th Annual Student Academy Awards.  The medal placements were announced at the awards ceremony, which featured as presenters actors Laura Dern, Cuba Gooding, Jr., Greg Kinnear and Mena Suvari alongside Academy President Tom Sherak at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The winners are:



Gold Medal*:    “The Reality Clock,” Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California

*Only one winner was selected in this category.


Gold Medal:      “Eyrie,” David Wolter, California Institute of the Arts

Silver Medal:    “The Jockstrap Raiders,” Mark Nelson, University of California, Los Angeles

Bronze Medal:  “My Little Friend,” Eric Prah, Ringling College of Art and Design


Gold Medal:      “Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment,” Keiko Wright, New York University

Silver Medal:    “Dying Green,” Ellen Tripler, American University

Bronze Medal:  “Lost Country,” Heather Burky, Art Institute of Jacksonville


Gold Medal:      “Under,” Mark Raso, Columbia University

Silver Medal:    “Narcocorrido,” Ryan Prows, American Film Institute

Bronze Medal:  “Nani,” Justin Tipping, American Film Institute

Foreign Film

Gold Medal:      “For Elsie,” David Winstone, University of Westminster, United Kingdom

Silver Medal:    “Of Dogs and Horses,” Thomas Stuber, Film Academy Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Bronze Medal:  “The Swing of the Coffin Maker,” Elmar Imanov, The International Film School Cologne, Germany


Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.