Bookmark (0)

No account yet? Register

 Eighth Annual Beaufort International Film Festival Poster

The Eighth Annual Beaufort International Film Festival taking place from February 12 to 16, 2014, has announced the finalists of the 34 films and screenplays selected in the categories of animation, documentary, short film, student film and features to screen at the upcoming festival. Many of the entries are from repeat finalists or winners. Of note among the finalists is the clean sweep of the student film category by the University of North Carolina School of the Arts in Winston-Salem, N.C.

This year, the festival will honor the 20th anniversary of the filming of “Forrest Gump,” much of which took place in and around Beaufort. Two-time Oscar Award-winning film editor Arthur Schmidt will receive the Jean Ribaut Award for Excellence in Film Editing during the festival. He won Oscars for his work on “Forrest Gump” and “Who Framed Roger Rabbit?”  The festival will also recognize James Passanante for his more than 30 years behind the scenes scenic designs.

Festival organizers are seeking locals who participated in the movie for special events during the film festival. A “Behind the Magic” documentary about the making of the film will be shown Feb. 14, followed by a screening of the movie.

The 2014 Beaufort International Film Festival Finalists are as follows:


Death & the Robot
Austin Taylor, Director
Winston-Salem, NC  27127

Double Occupancy
Fabian Giessler
Weimar, Germany

Moment of Tooth
Michael Hogan
Savannah, GA

Sleight of Hand
Michael Cusak
Kent Town, Australia


16 Acres
Mike Marcucci
New York, NY  10025

AKA Doc Pomus
William Hechter, Co-Director
Peter Miller, Co-Director
Ontario, Canada

Discovering Dave: Spirit Captured in Clay
Mark Albertin
Augusta, GA  30904

Jungle Warfare College
Jesse Veverka
Brooktondale, NY  14817

The Sum Total of Our Memory
Barbara Klutinis
San Francisco, CA  94131


Khrushch Roman, Director
Russian Federation

Teddy Bears
Thomas Beatty, Co-Director
Rebecca Fishman, Co-Director
Los Angeles, CA  90027

The One Who Loves You
Katharyn Grant, Director
Denver, CO 80209


A Lasting Sorrow
David Geary, Director
Louisville, KY

Amor Imposible
Felix Martiz, Director
South Gate, CA 90280

Bet on Red
John Murray, Director
Roswell, GA  30076

Clown Nose Theory
Ned Farr, Director
Venice, CA  90291

Honeymoon Suite
Zao Wang, Director
Beijing, China

Robert Hatch, Director
Beverly Hills, CA  90210

The Things My Father Never Taught Me
Burleigh Smith, Director
East Perth, Australia

The Long Wait
Wolfgang Bodison, Director
Los Angeles, CA


Death of Eurydice
Title Fight
What Remains

All Finalists in the Student Category are from the University of North Carolina, School of the Arts, Winston-Salem, NC


Coyote Dances with Fire
Todd Selleck
Byron Center, MI  49315

Fox-Tare Two-Eight
Shelia Watson
Charleston, SC 29422

Tom Radovich
Chicago, IL 60614

Old Scars
Richard Levine
Jacksonville, FL  32207

Uyen Le, Co-Writer
V. W. Scheich, Co-Writer
Los Angeles, CA  90045

Marcia Chandler Rhea, Writer
Charleston, SC  29412


Elizabeth Yoder  (The Long Wait- Short Film)
Gary Weeks (Bet on Red – Short Film)
Gillian Jacobs  (Teddy Bears – Feature Film)
Katharyn Grant (The One Who Loves You – Feature Film)
Lauren Holly ( Masque – Short Film)
Richard Losee ( Masque – Short Film)


Katharyn Grant ( The One Who Loves You – Feature Film)
Ned Farr ( The Clown Nose Theory- Short Film)
Robert Hatch ( Masque – Short Film)
Thomas Beatty and Rebecca Fishman ( Teddy Bears- Short Film)
Zao Wang (Honeymoon Suite – Short Film)

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.