No account yet? Register

 brooklyn film fest awards 2014

Brooklyn Film Festival, which ran from May 30 through June 8 in Williamsburg at indieScreen (289 Kent Avenue) and Windmill Studios NYC (287 Kent Avenue), announced the winners of its annual festival themed FORMULA. The event . The festival presented 107 film premieres from 34 countries, selected from over 2,000 submissions.

 Jadrien Steele’s Victoriana won the awards for Grand Chameleon Award and Best Narrative Feature, and Best Documentary Feature went to Nima Sarvestani for No Burqas Behind Bars. Alexis Boling’s Movement and Location won the Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature and David Beilinson, Michael Galinsky and Suki Hawley’s Who Took Johnny won for Best Documentary Feature. Best New Director went to Matan Guggenheim for Paradise Cruise.

BFF awarded the winners with prizes totaling over $50,000 in film services and products. Prizes include a seven-day theatrical release at indieScreen for the Best Narrative Feature and Best Documentary award winners, and for the first time as well for the Best Narrative Short, Best Documentary Short, Best Animation and Best Experimental Film.


Jadrien Steele for Victoriana



Narrative Feature – Jadrien Steele for Victoriana

Documentary Feature – Nima Sarvestani for No Burqas Behind Bars

Narrative Short – Mauricio Osaki for My Father’s Truck

Documentary Short – Anthony Simon for Third Shift

Animation – Uri Kranot & Michelle Kranot for Hollow Land

Experimental – Charles Griffin Gibson for The Meteor



Documentary Feature – David Beilinson, Michael Galinsky and Suki Hawley for Who Took Johnny

Narrative Feature – Alexis Boling for Movement and Location

Narrative Short – Jacob Kindlon for Vocabulary of the Mysteries

Documentary Short – Thomas Wood for LA Miner

Animation – Rick Manlapig for Fakie

Experimental – Augusto Giachino for Third Sister



Best New Director – Matan Guggenheim for Paradise Cruise

Best Producer – Christophe Nick and Victor Ede  for Boy Saloum

Best Screenplay – Bodine Boling for Movement and Location

Best Cinematography – Franz Dude for My Blind Heart

Best Editing – T.J. Misny for Intimate Semaphores

Best Original Score – Dan Tepfer for Movement and Location

Best Actor (Female) – Rezeta Veliu for Rezeta

Best Actor (Male) – Christos Haas for My Blind Heart



Beyza Boyacioglu & Sebastian Diaz Aguirre for Toñita’s 



Narrative Feature – Fernando Frias for Rezeta

Documentary Feature – Mladen Kovacevic for Unplugged

Narrative Short – Peter Vack for Send

Documentary Short – Stephen Greenwood for Tunnel Vision

Experimental – Miriam Harris & Juliet Palner for Warsaw, January 2011

Animation – Catya Plate for Hanging By a Thread


Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.