Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

Wang Bing, Mrs Fang, 2017 Locarno Festival Award Winners
Wang Bing

The documentary Mrs. Fang directed by Wang Bing was today crowned the winner of the Pardo d’oro at the 2017 Locarno Festival. Also at the awards ceremony, the Prix Public UBS was awarded to The Big Sick, by Michael Showalter.

When asked, how did he feel about the award, Wang Bing responded, “I’ve been working on documentaries for over ten years but this is the first time I am receiving such a great prize. It is a great and deep honor for me to get this award for Mrs. Fang. I want to see it as a start of my future projects. A very good one! Locarno is the best platform to show art films, because here there is an audience, coming from all over the world, which is attentive to every single film that is screened.”

The 71st Locarno Festival will take place from August 1 to 11, 2018.

2017 Locarno Festival Awards

Concorso Internazionale

Pardo d’oro (Gran Premio del Festival) della Città di Locarno
MRS. FANG by WANG Bing, France, China, Germany

Premio Speciale Della Giuria (Special Jury Prize)
AS BOAS MANEIRAS by Juliana Rojas, Marco Dutra, Brazil, France

Pardo per la Miglior Regia (Best Direction)
F.J. OSSANG for 9 DOIGTS, France, Portugal

Pardo per la Miglior Interpretazione Femminile (Best Actress)
ISABELLE HUPPERT for MADAME HYDE by Serge Bozon, France, Belgium

Pardo per la Miglior Interpretazione Maschile (Best Actor)
ELLIOTT CROSSET HOVE for VINTERBRØDRE by Hlynur Pálmason, Denmark, Iceland

Concorso Cineasti del presente

Pardo d’Oro Cineasti del Presente
3/4 (Three Quarters) by Ilian Metev, Bulgarien, Germany

Premio Speciale della Giuria Ciné+ Cineasti del Presente (Special Jury Prize)
MILLA by Valerie Massadian, France, Portugal

Premio per il Miglior Regista Emergente – Città e Regione di Locarno (Prize for the Best
Emerging Director)
KIM DAE-HWAN for CHO-HAENG (The First Lap), South Korea

Special Mention
DISTANT CONSTELLATION by Shevaun Mizrahi, USA, Turkey, Netherlands
VERÃO DANADO by Pedro Cabeleira, Portugal

Signs of Life

Signs of Life Award ELECTRONIC-ART.FOUNDATION for Best Film
COCOTE by Nelson Carlo De Los Santos Arias, Dominican Republic, Argentina, Germany, Qatar

Fundación Casa Wabi – Mantarraya Award

Special Mention
ERA UMA VEZ BRASÍLIA by Adirley Queirós, Brazil, Portugal

First Feature

Swatch First Feature Award (Prize for Best First Feature)
SASHISHI DEDA (Scary Mother) by Ana Urushadze, Georgia, Estland

Swatch Art Peace Hotel Award
METEORLAR (Meteors) by Gürcan Keltek, Netherlands,Turkey

Special Mention
DENE WOS GUET GEIT (Those Who Are Fine) by Cyril Schäublin, Switzerland

Pardi di domani

Concorso Internazionale

Pardino d’Oro for the Best International Short Film – Premio SRG SSR
ANTÓNIO E CATARINA by Cristina Hanes, Portugal

Pardino d’Argento SRG SSR for the Concorso Internazionale
SHMAMA by Miki Polonski, Israel

Locarno Nomination for the European Film Awards – Premio Pianifica
JEUNES HOMMES À LA FENÊTRE by Loukianos Moshonas, France

Medien Patent Verwaltung AG Award
KAPITALISTIS by Pablo Muñoz Gomez, Belgium,France

Special Mention
ARMAGEDDON 2 by Corey Hughes, Cuba

Concorso Nazionale

Pardino d’Oro for the Best Swiss Short Film – Premio Swiss Life
REWIND FORWARD by Justin Stoneham, Switzerland

Pardino d’Argento Swiss Life for the Concorso Nazionale
59 SECONDES by Mauro Carraro, Switzerland

Best Swiss Newcomer Award
LES INTRANQUILLES by Magdalena Froger, Switzerland

Variety Piazza Grande Award
DREI ZINNEN by Jan Zabeil, Germany, Italy

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.