2017 HollyShorts Film Festival award winners Brett Ratner

The Academy Awards® qualifying 13th Annual HollyShorts Film Festival came to a close Saturday night with the HollyShorts Awards.

The evening kicked off with a special Keynote conversation by Brett Ratner moderated by Steve Bellamy, Kodak’s President of Motion Picture and Entertainment. Following the Keynote HollyShorts Presented Ratner with its 2017 Icon Award. Previous recipients include: David Lynch, Eli Roth, Paul Haggis, Joe Carnahan, and Matthew Modine.

The night’s big winners were: Skinner Meyers who took home the Grand Jury Prize for his short Frank Embree, Kevin Wilson, Jr. who took home Best Director for My Nephew Emmett and Best Short Film went to Konstantina Kotzamani for her short LIMBO.

2017 HollyShorts Film Festival award winners

2017 HollyShorts Film Festival Awards Winners

Best Action
Two Bellman Three
Daniel Malakai Cabrera | Mark David Spencer

Best Animation
Robin Hays | Andy Poon

Best Cinematography
The Ningyo
Miguel Ortega

Best Comedy
Hot Winter: A Film by Dick Pierre
Jack Henry Robbins

Best Coming of Age
A Boy Called Su
Vedrana Music

Best Commercial
Making It On Time – Christian Siriano
Sophia Banks

Best Director
My Nephew Emmett
Kevin Wilson, Jr.

Best Diversity
Il Silenzio
Ali Asgari | Farnoosh Samadi

Best Doc
The Tables
Jon Bunning

Best Drama
Benny Got Shot
Malcolm Washington

Best Editing
Miss World
Georgia Wu

Best Female Director
Justine Raczkiewicz

Grand Jury Award
Frank Embree
Skinner Myers

Best Horror
Wandering Soul
Josh Tanner

Best International
Pushing Night Away
Jade Aksnes

In a Heartbeat
Beth David | Esteban Bravo

Best Music Video
“Starman” IAMEVE
Thor Freudenthal

Best Narrative
Fry Day
Laura Moss

Panavision Future Filmmaker
Verano 78
Serapi Soler

Best Period Piece
Hope Dies Last
Ben Price

Best Producer
Oh What a Wonderful Feeling
François Jaros | Fanny-Laure Malo

Best Romance
Just Go!
Pavel Gumennikov

Best Sci Fi
Maggie Mahrt

Best Screenplay
John Humber

Screenplay Runner Up
Modern Love
Hannah Dillon

Screenplay Runner Up
Echo Chamber
Travis Lemke

Best Shot on Film
Little Bird
Georgia Oakley

Best Short Film Grand Prize
Konstantina Kotzamani

Best Student
Nathalie Álvarez Mesén

Best Thriller
Blake Salzman

Best TV Category
Shoot Me Nicely
Elias Plagianos

Best VFX
Real Artists
Cameo Wood

Best Visionary
The Ceiling
Jussi Rautaniemi

Best VR
If You Go Away
Soheila Golestani

Best Web Series
Gunner Jackson
Christian Strevy

Best Youth
A Birthday Card
Anvar Madraimov

Honorable Mention
Yes, God, Yes
Karen Maine

Share this article ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.