Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

No account yet? Register

The Shape Of Water
Sally Hawkins and Octavia Spencer in the film THE SHAPE OF WATER.

Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Waterleads the nominations for the 2017 Houston Film Critics Society Awards with 11 nominations, including best picture and best director for Guillermo del Toro. Winners will be announced at the award ceremony on January 6, 2018.

2017 Houston Film Critics Society Awards Nominations

Best Picture:

The Big Sick
Call Me By Your Name
The Florida Project
Get Out
Lady Bird
The Post
The Shape of Water
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Director:

Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water”
Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird”
Christopher Nolan, “Dunkirk”
Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
Steven Spielberg, “The Post”

Best Actor:

Timothee Chalamet, “Call Me By Your Name”
James Franco, “The Disaster Artist”
Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out”
Robert Pattinson, “Good Time”
Andy Serkis, “War for the Planet of the Apes”

Best Actress:

Sally Hawkins, “The Shape of Water”
Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Brooklyn Prince, “The Florida Project”
Margot Robbie, “I, Tonya”
Saiorse Ronan, “Lady Bird”

Best Supporting Actor:

Willem Defoe, “The Florida Project”
Richard Jenkins, “The Shape of Water”
Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Patrick Stewart, “Logan”
Michael Stuhlbarg, “Call Me By Your Name”

Best Supporting Actress:

Holly Hunter, “The Big Sick”
Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”
Dafne Keen, “Logan”
Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”
Octavia Spencer, “The Shape of Water”

Best Screenplay:

“The Big Sick,” Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani
“Get Out,” Jordan Peele
“Lady Bird,” Greta Gerwig
“The Post,” Elizabeth Hanna and Josh Singer
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Martin McDonagh

Best Cinematography:

“Blade Runner 2049,” Roger Deakins
“Call Me By Your Name,” Sayombhu Mukdeeprom
“Dunkirk,” Hoyte van Hoytema
“The Shape of Water,” Dan Laustsen
“Wonder Wheel,” Vittoria Storaro

Best Animated Film:

“The Breadwinner”
“Despicable Me 3”
“The Lego Batman Movie”
“Loving Vincent”

Best Original Score:

“Blade Runner 2049,” Ben Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer
“Dunkirk,” Hans Zimmer
“The Post,” John Williams
“The Shape of Water,” Alexandre Desplat
“War for the Planet of the Apes,” Michael Giacchino

Best Original Song:

“Evermore” (“Beauty and the Beast”)
“I Get Overwhelmed” (“A Ghost Story”)
“Never Forget” (“Murder on the Orient Express”)
“Remember Me” (“Coco”)
“Visions of Gideon” (“Call Me By Your Name”)

Best Foreign Language Film:

“Blade of the Immortal”
“First They Killed My Father”
“The Square”

Best Documentary Feature:

“Faces Places”
“The Work”

Best Visual Effects:

“Blade Runner 2049”
“The Shape of Water”
“War for the Planet of the Apes”

Best Poster:

“Baby Driver”
“Logan Lucky”
“The Shape of Water”

Best Texas Independent Film Award:

“A Ghost Story”
“Mr. Roosevelt”
“Mustang Island”
“The Secret Life of Lance Letscher”
“Song to Song”

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.