Bookmark (0)

No account yet? Register

A Drowning Man Mahdi Fleifel-
A Drowning Man

Miami Film Festival and IMDbPro today unveiled 25 finalists in the Festival’s IMDbPro Short Film Competition.  The Short Film Competition Grand Jury will include IMDb’s Founder and CEO Col Needham, and the winning filmmaker will receive a $2,500 cash prize.

The Miami Film Festival, which celebrates its 35th anniversary edition this year, will take place March 9 to 18, 2018 at venues across Miami.

“We congratulate the finalists of the IMDbPro Short Film Competition and are pleased that all submissions were exclusively received and processed via IMDbPro’s Withoutabox service, which connects filmmakers and film festivals,” said Matt Kumin, Head of IMDbPro. “This short film competition is one of the many ways we help filmmakers get discovered by a global audience and advance their careers.”

Highlights among the 25 finalists of the Festival’s 2018 IMDbPro Short Film Competition include:

Adrián Cárdenas, a Cuban-American writer/director from Miami and former Major League
baseball player for the Chicago Cubs, will present his NYU Tisch School of the Arts master’s
thesis film, “Canoe Poems.”

Six new animated shorts will compete from the National Film Board of Canada, this
category’s defending champion. The 2017 Miami Film Festival’s Best Short-winning film was
the NFB’s “The Head Vanishes,” by Franck Dion.

Oscar-winner Marisa Tomei and Oscar-nominee Minnie Driver star in Jocelyn Stamat’s
unusual sci-fi/horror entry, “Laboratory Conditions.”

Three-time and currently Oscar-nominated makeup artist Kazuhiro Tsuji’s work in the
physical transformation of 2018 Oscar nominee Gary Oldman in Darkest Hour is profiled in “The
Human Face.”

Palestinian filmmaker Mahdi Fleifel returns to the competition for a third consecutive time
with the BAFTA-nominated “A Drowning Man,” first presented as a Palme d’Or candidate the
2017 Cannes Film Festival.

Miami-born Michael Arcos will present his eclectic “This My Favorite Mural” and Miami-
educated Sara Werner will present “The Things They Left Behind,” based on a story by
Stephen King.

The complete list of 25 films in the Festival’s IMDbPro Short Film Competition are:

BROKEN HILL (Australia, 2017), directed by Peter Drew.
THE CANNONBALL WOMAN (Canada, France, Switzerland, 2017), directed by Albertine Zullo, David Toutevoix.
CANOE POEMS (USA, 2017), directed by Adrián Cárdenas.
DEYZANGEROO (Canada, 2017), directed by Ehsan Gharib.
A DROWNING MAN (Denmark, Greece, UK 2017), directed by Mahdi Fleifel.
EMMY (Canada, 2018), directed by Hannah Cheesman.
THE FISHERMAN (Cuba, 2017), directed by Ana A. Alpizar.
(FOOL TIME) JOB (France, 2017), directed by Gilles Cuvelier.
THE FULL STORY (UK, 2017), directed by Daisy Jacobs.
HOLY HILL (Dominican Republic, 2017), directed by Rodney Llaverias.
THE HUMAN FACE (USA, 2017), directed by Aline Pimentel.
LABORATORY CONDITIONS (USA, 2017), directed by Jocelyn Stamat.
LOS COMANDOS (USA, 2017), directed by Joshua Bennett, Juliana Schatz.
MANIVALD (Canada, Croatia, Estonia 2017), directed by Chintis Lundgren.
MI DULCINEA (Cuba, 2017), directed by Max Barbakow.
MOTHER (Spain, 2017), directed by Rodrigo Sorogoyen.
MY TREASURE (El Salvador, 2017), directed by Michael Flores.
MY YIDDISH PAPI (Canada, 2017), directed by Éléonore Goldberg.
NO TRAFFIC NO MORE (Canada, 2017), directed by Julie Roy
SKIN FOR SKIN (Canada, 2017), directed by Kevin D. A. Kurytnik, Carol Beecher.
THE TESLA WORLD LIGHT (Canada, 2017), directed by Matthew Rankin.
THE THINGS THEY LEFT BEHIND (USA, 2017), directed by Sara Werner.
THIS MY FAVORITE MURAL (USA, Honduras, Costa Rica, 2017), directed by Michael Arcos.
TO GO (Uruguay, 2018), directed by Ilan Rosenfeld.
25. UNFINISHED, 2017 (MIXED MEDIA) (USA, 2018), directed by Rafael Salazar Moreno.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.