Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register


The Hate U Give leads this year’s winners of the 2nd Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society Awards with a total of four awards including Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay. Bo Burnham’s Eighth Grade followed closely with three awards including Best Independent Film, Best First Feature, and Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under for Elsie Fisher. 

Spike Lee’s BlacKKKlansman won Best Male Director while Lynne Ramsey’s You Were Never Really Here wins Best Female Director. Netflix and Alfonso Cuarón’s Roma cleaned up the Best Foreign Film category as well as Best Cinematography. 

Other big winners include Fox Searchlight’s The Favourite which won two awards: Best Comedy and Best Cast and A Quiet Place won Best Sci-Fi/Horror. 

The Los Angeles Film Online Film Critics Society’s 2nd annual awards ceremony honoring excellence in films and filmmaking in 2018, will be held on Wednesday, January 9th, 2019 at the Taglyan Complex in Los Angeles.

2019 Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society Awards Winners 

Best Picture:
The Hate U Give (Fox) 

Best Actor: 
Rami Malek – Bohemian Rhapsody (Fox)

Best Actress:
Toni Collette – Hereditary (A24)

Best Supporting Actor: (TIE)
Mahershala Ali – Green Book (Universal)
Russell Hornsby – The Hate U Give (Fox)

Best Supporting Actress:
Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna)

Best Performance by an Actor 23 and Under: (TIE)
Lucas Hedges – Ben Is Back (Roadside Attractions) 
Alex Wolff – Hereditary (A24)

Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under:
Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Breakthrough Performance:
Amandla Stenberg – The Hate U Give (Fox)

Best Cast:
The Favourite (Fox Searchlight)

Best Female Director:
Lynne Ramsey – You Were Never Really Here (Amazon)

Best Male Director:
Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman (Focus)

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Audrey Wells – The Hate U Give (Fox)

Best Original Screenplay:
Adam McKay – Vice (Annapurna)

Best Action Film:
Mission: Impossible – Fallout (Paramount)

Best Animated Film:
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (Sony)

Best Blockbuster:
Black Panther (Disney)

Best Comedy/Musical:
The Favourite (Fox Searchlight)

Best Documentary:
Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (Focus)

Best First Feature:
Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Foreign Film:
Roma (Netflix)

Best Indie Film:
Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Sci-Fi/Horror:
A Quiet Place (Paramount)

Best Cinematography:
Alfonso Cuarón – Roma (Netflix)

Best Editing:
Nicholas D. Johnson and Will Merrick – Searching (Sony)

Best Original Song:
Shallow – A Star is Born (Warner Brothers)

Best Score:
Nicholas Britell – If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna)

Best Stunts:
Mission: Impossible Fallout (Paramount) 

Best Visual Effects:
Avengers: Infinity War (Disney)

Best Visual Effects or Animated Performance:
Josh Brolin and Digital Domain- Avengers: Infinity War (Disney)

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.