LaKeith Stanfield, Gregory Kasyan, and Tobit Raphael in Quest: The Truth Always Rises
LaKeith Stanfield, Gregory Kasyan, and Tobit Raphael in Quest: The Truth Always Rises

Festival of Cinema NYC announce the winners of its 3rd annual event at the Awards Gala on Sunday. From a pool of nearly 450 film submissions, the festival presented 125 remarkable films from 25 countries with the top awards going to “Quest – The Truth Always Rises” directed by Santiago Rizzo for Best Feature Narrative, and “The Ringmaster” directed by Molly Dworsky and Dave Newberg for Best Documentary.

Winners for each competitive category were chosen by the festival’s specially selected jury, and received a unique statuette at the Awards Gala on Sunday, Aug. 11 during a dinner ceremony that took place at Queens Brewery in Ridgewood, Queens.

And the winners are:

Best Feature Narrative: “Quest – The Truth Always Rises” (Dir. Santiago Rizzo)

Quest – the Truth Always Rises – Trailer

Best Documentary: “The Ringmaster” (Dir. Molly Dworsky and Dave Newberg)


Best Short Film: “The Adulterer” (Dir. Bobby Yan)

Best Experimental/Animation/Music Video: “Face” (Dir. Masa Gibson)

Best Web Series: “Tom and The Domme” (Dir. Keith Marlin)

Audience Choice Award, Feature: “We Were All Nobody’s” (Dir. Charles Caracciolo)

Audience Choice Award, Short: “Bristled” (Dir. Scott Farrell)

Best Director: Esmé von Hoffman (“Ovid and the Art of Love”)

Best Actress: Meissa Hampton (“Full Moon and High Tide”)

Best Actor: John DiMino (“Over the Threshold”)

Best Supporting Actress: Rocio Mendez (“Coffee and a Donut”)

Best Supporting Actor: Bruce Herman (“The Song of Her”)

Best Screenplay: Justin C. Hynous and Ajmal Zaheer Ahmad (“My Soul To Keep”)

Best Cinematography: Adam Richlin (“Keylight”)

Best Editing: Patrick Devaney and Matthew J. Kaplan (“It’s Time For Tea”)

Best Sound Editing: Eric Paperth and Tyler March (“Rocks! The Musical”)

Best Makeup & FX: Apollonia Tolo (“Rwanda”)

NYC Indie Film Collective 72-Hour Short Film Challenge Winner: Team 11 – “Friends” (Dir. Olivia Chen) – Awarded $500.00 from Maspeth Federal Saving Bank.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.