Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

Jonah Beres in Balloon
Jonah Beres in Balloon

HollyShorts Film Festival announced their top prizes for their landmark 15th year with “Balloon,” starring PEN15’s Jonah Beres and The League’s Paul Scheer, taking home the Best Short Film Grand Prix.

BALLOON – Trailer

“The Orphan” received the Oscar-Qualifying Best Live Action award and “SISTER” snagged the Best Animation award. The three films – “Balloon,” “The Orphan” and “SISTER” are officially now qualified to be in the running for an Academy AwardⓇ in 2020. 

“Homesick” was recognized with two top prizes including Best Director and Best Grand Jury Impossible Dream Award, which will be turned into a feature courtesy of Impossible Dream Entertainment and is notably one of the biggest prizes of the night.

“Mum’s Hairpins” took home the Best International Award which includes a generous roundtrip to London and badges to C21’s Content London, courtesy of Studio 21; at the conference they will have the opportunity to pitch their shorts as a series. Best Screenplay is sponsored by Seattle Film Summit for the second year in a row and the winner “Desmond’s Not Here Anymore” will see the script made into a short and premiered at HollyShorts 2020. Film Augusta will be flying out both Best Comedy “Adams” and Best Drama “The Neighbors’ Window” to Augusta, Georgia to meet with Mayor Hardie Davis Jr. and the Augusta Film Commission. “Esta Es Tu Cuba” won the Best Panavision Future Filmmaker Award and will receive $15K Camera Package from Panavision. Stampede Ventures awarded “Tangles and Knots” the Best Female Director Award, “STARBOY” went on to win Revry’s Distribution deal for Best LGBTQ+, “The Old Wolves Club” was awarded the PaperChase Film PitchFest Award, and “T A L K” won the ISA Story Award.

HollyShorts Film Festival 2019 Awards Winners

Best Action – Mama Bear

Best Animation – SISTER

Best Cinematographer – On The Border

Best Comedy – Adams

Best Coming of Age – Now You Know

Best Director – Homesick

Best Diversity – Catch A Girl

Best Doc – Lazarus

Best Drama – The Neighbors’ Window

Best Editing – For The Love I Show

Best Female Director – Tangles and Knots

Best Grand Jury Impossible Dream Award – Homesick

Best Horror – Oscar’s Bell

Best International – Mum’s Hairpins

Best LGBTQ+ – Starboy

Best Live Action – The Orphan

Best Music Video – Pa’lante

Best Narrative – Lady Parts

Best Panavision Future Filmmaker Award – Esta Es Tu Cuba

Best Period Piece – The Legend of Grayson Crockett

Best Producer – Piel Canela

Best Romance – Evelyn x Evelyn

Best Sci Fi – Storm

Best Screenplay – Desmond’s Not Here Anymore

Best Short Film Grand Prix – Balloon

Best Shot On Film – Spin Cycle

Best Student – Tree #3

Best Thriller – Shehita

Best TV Category – Rainbow Ruthie

Best VFX – The Shipment

Best Web Series – Black Girls Guide to Fertility

Honorable Mention – A Million Eyes

ISA Story Award – T A L K

PaperChase Films Award – The Old Wolves Club

Screenplay Runner Up – Fireflies

Screenplay Runner Up – Meadow Valley Dollhouse Competition

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.