AURORA (Aurora) by Miia Tervo
AURORA (Aurora) by Miia Tervo

Five films from the five Nordic countries of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, have been selected as candidates at The Haugesund International Film Festival for the Nordic Council Film Prize 2019.

The DKK 350,000 prize (EUR 47,000) is shared equally among the screenwriter, director and producer.

Last year’s winner of the Film Prize was the Icelandic film “Woman at War” by Benedikt Erlingsson.

The winner will be announced Tuesday, October 29th 2019 with the Nordic Council Autumn Session in Stockholm, Sweden.

The nominees for the Nordic Council Film Prize 2019 are:

Denmark: QUEEN OF HEARTS (Dronningen)
by May el-Toukhy (director / script), Maren Louise Käehne (script), Caroline Blanco, René Ezra (producers)

QUEEN OF HEARTS (Dronningen) Trailer

Finland: AURORA (Aurora)
by Miia Tervo (director / script), Max Malka (producer)

AURORA (Aurora) Trailer

Iceland: A WHITE, WHITE DAY (Hvítur, Hvítur Dagur)
by Hlynur Pálmason (director / script), Anton Máni Svansson (producer)

A WHITE, WHITE DAY (Hvítur, Hvítur Dagur) Trailer

Norway: BLIND SPOT (Blindsone)
by Tuva Novotny (director / script), Elisabeth Kvithyll (producer)


Sweden: RECONSTRUCTING UTØYA (Rekonstruktion Utøya)
by Carl Javér (director / script), Fredrik Lange (script / producer)

RECONSTRUCTING UTØYA (Rekonstruktion Utøya) Trailer


Benedikt Erlingsson for ‘Woman at War‘ (2018)

Selma Vilhunen for ‘Little Wing‘ (2017)

Joachim Trier for ‘Louder Than Bombs‘ (2016)

Dagur Kári for ‘Virgin Mountain‘ (2015)

Benedikt Erlingsson for ‘Of Horses and Men’ (2014)

Thomas Vinterberg for ‘The Hunt’ (2013)

Ruben Östlund for ‘Play’ (2012)

Pernilla August for ‘Beyond’ (2011)

Thomas Vinterberg for ‘Submarino’ (2010)

Lars von Trier for ‘Antichrist’ (2009)

Roy Andersson for ‘You, the Living’ (2008)

Peter Schønau Fog for ‘The Art of Crying’ (2007)

Josef Fares for ‘Zozo’ (2006)

Per Fly for ‘Manslaughter’ (2005)

Aki Kaurismäki for ‘The Man without a Past’ (2002).

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.