Madre directed by Rodrigo Sorogoyen’s
Madre directed by Rodrigo Sorogoyen’s

The 37th edition of Miami Film Festival today announced the jurors in all competition categories for its upcoming edition, running March 6 – 15, 2020. The Festival also announced the North American premiere of Rodrigo Sorogoyen’s Madre, based on his Oscar-nominated short film, and Matt Wolf’s new documentary, Spaceship Earth, which premiered at the 2020 Sundance Film Festival.

The jury for the $30,000 Knight Made in MIA Feature Film Award includes Stephen Arboite, a New York City-born, now Miami-based visual artist; Rachel Bleemer, the Director of Events for Film Independent in Los Angeles; and Kevin Chinoy, film producer of the Academy Award-nominated The Florida Project.

The jury for the $40,000 Knight MARIMBAS Award is comprised of Álvar Carretero de la Fuente, Director, Awards PR & Global Publicity, for Joshua Jason Public Relations in Los Angeles; Rupert Lloyd, a British producer and editor; and Elena Manrique, a Spanish producer and screenwriter, whose credits include Pan’s Labyrinth, Cell 211, The Orphanage, Transsiberian and Ciudad Delirio,

The jury for the $10,000 Knight Made in MIA Short Film Award, supported by Knight Foundation includes filmmaker partners – Patrick Bresnan & Ivete Lucas whose debut feature documentary Pahokee won the 2019 Miami Film Festival Knight Made in MIA Feature Film Award and world premiered at Sundance; Jayme Gershen, a Miami-based photographer and filmmaker whose short film “Six Degrees of Immigration” was the co-winner of the 2019 Miami Film Festival Knight Made in MIA Short Film Award; and Gonzalo Ulivi, a Managing Partner of the Silverspot Cinemas boutique theater chain.

The jury for the $10,000 HBO Ibero-American Feature Film Award includes Maxine Bailey, former Toronto International Film Festival executive; Agustina Chiarino, a producer whose work includes So Much Water, The Heiresses, Monos, and Alelí; and Leslie Cohen, Vice President of Content Acquisitions at HBO and HBO MAX.

The jury for the $10,000 Jordan Ressler First Feature Award includes Florencia Jimenez-Marcos, a Miami-based arts enthusiast and collector; Leticia Jorge, a filmmaker from Uruguay, whose debut feature, So Much Water, co-directed with Ana Guevara, won Miami Film Festival’s Knight Competition and Jordan Ressler Screenwriting Award in 2013; and Naji Abu Nowar, a filmmaker from Jordan whose debut feature, Theeb, was nominated for an Academy Award.

The jury for the $5,000 Zeno Mountain Award includes Maite Alberdi, director of The Lifeguard (11), I’m Not From Here (16), Tea Time (15) and The Grown-Ups (16); and Brian Blum, whose short films include “Blood and Water” and “My Daughter Yoshiko”, which was the 2019 winner of Miami Film Festival’s Zeno Mountain Award.

The jury for the $5,000 Alacran Music In Film Award includes Mowg, a Korean composer whose award-winning credits include Lee Chang-dong’s Burning, for which he won Miami Film Festival’s 2019 Alacran Music in Film Award; Jorge Villamizar, a Miami-based Colombian musician, singer and composer; and Marcelo Zarvos a composer whose credits include Nicole Holofcener’s Enough Said, Denzel Washington’s Fences, Stephen Chbosky’s Wonder, Todd Haynes’ Dark Waters.

The jury for the $2,500 Oolite Arts Miami Film Festival Best Poster Award consists of Akiko Stehrenberger ,an illustrator and movie poster art designer. She has designed official one-sheets for films such as Joe Talbot’s The Last Black Man in San Francisco, Celine Sciamma’s Portrait of a Lady on Fire, Ken Loach’s I, Daniel Blake and numerous others.

The jury for the $2,500 Oolite Arts Miami Film Festival Best Trailer Award consists of Joe Hackman, a veteran movie trailer editor who has created trailers for films distributed by Sony Pictures Classics, Studio Ghibli, The Orchard, and many others. His trailer for Yann González’s Knife+Heart won the Miami Film Festival 2019 Best Trailer Award.

The jury for the $42,500 Lynn and Louis Wolfson II Family Foundation CinemaSlam Student Film Competition 2020 includes Adriana Bosch, an independent documentary filmmaker whose newest film, Letters to Eloisa, world premieres at the 2020 Miami Film Festival; Carluccio, a filmmaker, photographer and painter from Venezuela, director of short films “Nostalgia” and “Klein Blue;” and Barron Sherer, a time-based media artist.

FILMS in this article

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.