How to Stop a Recurring Dream (directed by Ed Morris)
How to Stop a Recurring Dream (directed by Ed Morris)

The 6th annual British Urban Film Festival (BUFF) came to a close with the annual awards ceremony streamed online via the festival website (see video below) and hosted by actor, writer and director Femi Oyeniran. How to Stop a Recurring Dream directed by Ed Morris won the Victor Adebodun Award: Best Feature along with Best Actress for Ruby Barker. Exploring themes of separation and loss this dreamy trip takes place over a weekend in the lives of two sisters. In the film, an imminent family separation forces the oldest daughter to kidnap her sister in an attempt to reconnect before they part.

2020 British Urban Film Festival Winners

Best Short Film Nominees
sponsored by Goldfinch
1: Transference (directed by Aletha Shepherd)
2: Hungry Joe (directed by Paul Holbrook and Sam Dawe) – WINNER
3: Stop and Search (directed by Harry Jackson)
4: The Chippie (directed by Louis Norton Selzer)

The Blessing Anyiam-Osigwe Award: Best Actress Nominees
1: Ruby Barker (How to Stop a Recurring Dream) – WINNER
2: Joselyn Dumas (Cold Feet)
3: Antonia Thomas (All on a Summer’s Day)
4: Laura Autumn Rai (The Tale of The Fatherless)

Best Actor Nominees
1: Jamie Michie (How to Stop a Recurring Dream)
2: Stefan Davis (Tales of the Fatherless) – WINNER
3: Sam Gittins (Sorority)
4: Johnny Sachon (Solitary)

The Victor Adebodun Award: Best Feature Nominees
sponsored by Woolfcub Productions; presented by Jesse Quinones, Producer at Woolfcub Productions
1: How to Stop a Recurring Dream (directed by Ed Morris) – WINNER
2: Sorority (directed by James Webber)
3: Cold Feet (directed by Moses Inwang)
4: The Tale of the Fatherless (co-directed by Stefan Davis & Misha Nadine)

Best Documentary Nominees
sponsored by Greenlit Fund; presented by Peter Storey, Film Financier and Founder of Greenlit Fund
1: Deleted (directed by Stephan Pierre Mitchell) – WINNER
2: In The Red (directed by Patrick Rooney)
3: Ayiti – The Awakening (directed by Sage Love)
4: Mini DV (directed by Shauly Melamed)

Best Comedy Nominees
1: Steve (directed by Jason Hightower)
2: Hungry Joe (directed by Paul Holbrook)
3: Loyalty or Lies (directed by Comfort Emmanuel)
4: Cleaning House (directed by Shahaub Roudbari) – WINNER

Best Script Award recipients
sponsored by First Flights
1: Chalice and Blade written by Charlie Taylor
2: Hell Water written by Tim Mallon
3: Made In America by Brendan Kelly

FILMS in this article

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.