Dick Johnson Is Dead
Dick Johnson Is Dead

The Columbus Film Critics Association announced the winners of the 19th annual awards, honoring the best in film for 2020. Nomadland made the list of Best Film of 2020 along with Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay for Chloé Zhao; and Best Cinematography for Joshua James Richards.

Other winners include Best Documentary for Dick Johnson is Dead, Best Foreign Language Film for Minari, and Best Overlooked Film for The Vast of Night.

Winners of 2020 Columbus Film Critics Association Awards

Best Film

  1. Promising Young Woman
  2. Nomadland
  3. Sound of Metal
  4. Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  5. Minari
  6. Soul
  7. Never Rarely Sometimes Always
  8. The Trial of the Chicago 7
  9. First Cow
  10. Mank

Best Director

  • Chloé Zhao, Nomadland
  • Runner-up: Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman

Best Actor

  • Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal
  • Runner-up: Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best Actress

  • Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman
  • Runner-up: Frances McDormand, Nomadland

Best Supporting Actor

  • Paul Raci, Sound of Metal
  • Runners-up (tie): Chadwick Boseman, Da 5 Bloods and Mark Rylance, The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Supporting Actress

  • Youn Yuh-jung, Minari
  • Runner-up: Olivia Colman, The Father

Best Ensemble

  • Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Runner-up: Promising Young Woman

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)

  • Chadwick Boseman (Da 5 Bloods and Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)
  • Runner-up: Elisabeth Moss (The Invisible Man and Shirley)

Breakthrough Film Artist

  • Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman) – (for producing, directing, and screenwriting)
  • Runner-up: Radha Blank, The Forty-Year-Old Version – (for producing, directing, screenwriting,
    and acting)

Best Cinematography

  • Joshua James Richards, Nomadland
  • Runner-up: Eric Messerschmidt, Mank

Best Film Editing

  • Alan Baumgarten, The Trial of the Chicago 7
  • Runner-up: Mikkel E.G. Nielsen, Sound of Metal

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Chloé Zhao, Nomadland
  • Runner-up: Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Best Original Screenplay

  • Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman
  • Runner-up: Aaron Sorkin, The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Score

  • Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Soul
  • Runner-up: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Mank

Best Documentary

  • Dick Johnson is Dead
  • Runner-up: Boys State

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Minari
  • Runner-up: Martin Eden

Best Animated Film

  • Wolfwalkers
  • Runner-up: Soul

Best Overlooked Film

  • The Vast of Night
  • Runner-up: Palm Springs
Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.