Bookmark (0)

No account yet? Register

Minari and Nomadland
Minari and Nomadland

Chloé Zhao’s Nomadland is the big winner this year with the Seattle Film Critics Society (“SFCS”), landing five 2020 Seattle Film Critics Society Awards, including Best Picture of the Year. The film also earned Zhao the Best Director award and a win for Best Film Editing. Frances McDormand was named Best Actress in a Leading Role, while Joshua James Richards’ work behind the camera secured a win for Best Cinematography.

Lee Isaac Chung’s Minari, followed with three SFCS awards including Best Film Not in the English Language, Best Youth Performance, honoring 7-year-old Alan Kim’s role as David, the family’s youngest child often tasked with dealing with his eccentric grandmother, played by Best Supporting Actress recipient Yuh-jung Youn.

Jon Bois’ unique and innovative 220-minute YouTube documentary The History of the Seattle Mariners: Supercut Edition won the Best Documentary Feature prize.

Riz Ahmed was named Best Actor for his powerful work as Ruben in Sound of Metal, portraying a punk rock drummer forced to deal with the rapid onset of hearing loss and changes in his life he seemingly cannot control.

Daniel Kaluuya’s blistering work as civil rights activist Fred Hampton in Judas and the Black Messiah earned him the Best Supporting Actor prize.

Emerald Fennell’s Promising Young Woman earned the first-time writer/director the Best Screenplay award.

2020 Seattle Film Critics Society Award Winners

Best Picture of the Year
Nomadland (Searchlight Pictures)

Best Director
Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Frances McDormand – Nomadland

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Yuh-jung Youn – Minari

Best Ensemble Cast
Da 5 Bloods – Kim Coleman, casting director

Best Action Choreography

Best Screenplay
Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell

Best Animated Feature
Wolfwalkers – Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart, director

Best Documentary Feature
The History of the Seattle Mariners: Supercut Edition – Jon Bois, director

Best Film Not in the English Language
Minari – Lee Isaac Chung, director

Best Cinematography
Nomadland – Joshua James Richards

Best Costume Design
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth

Best Film Editing
Nomadland – Chloé Zhao

Best Original Score
Soul – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste

Best Production Design
Mank – Donald Graham Burt (Production Design); Jan Pascale (Set Decorator)

Best Visual Effects
Tenet – Andrew Jackson, Andrew Lockley, Scott Fisher, Mike Chambers

Best Youth Performance (18 years of age or younger upon start of filming):
Alan Kim – Minari

Villain of the Year:
The Invisible Man/Adrian Griffin – The Invisible Man – portrayed by Oliver Jackson-Cohen

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.